battery tender inline fuse - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 09:38 AM Thread Starter
Scrub919
 
mrmaguu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 69
Rep Power: 1
 
battery tender inline fuse

am going to hook up the battery tender hookups to the battery to power gps,my question is the inline fuse is a 3amp will I have to put a larger fuse in it,and if so what size do I use? thanks for your help in advance. Dale

mrmaguu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 10:23 AM
rmb
Let's go!
 
rmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sussex Couty NJ
Posts: 7,650
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

You will need to use a fuse that is rated for whatever your GPS needs plus 3 amps. I would think you'd be OK with a 10 amp, just make sure the wire is capable of that rating.

rmb is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 12:15 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,768
Rep Power: 1
 
my gps works just fine with the battery tender jr pigtails that plugs into a cigg socket? didnt change the fuse..... wonder if i should look at it now lol.

Pvster is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 12:34 PM
Immune
 
snowytgr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manassas VA
Posts: 343
Rep Power: 1
 
I had my gps connected and did not change the fuse. I have not had any problems. The gps does not draw enough amperage to require a different fuse JMO.

snowytgr1 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 01:19 PM
Centurion
 
ariannasdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: fort saskatchewan, ab, canada
Posts: 1,302
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Remember power = Current x volts
Or power / volts = current
So look at your gps and see the power rating. For example if your gps uses 20 watts, do 20/12=1.66. You only have a current rating of 1.6 amps.(example only)

Arte et Marte
ariannasdaddy is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 01:21 PM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,614
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

I don't know of ANY gps that uses 20 watts. LAPTOPS use 20 watts, heck even little netbooks barely use about 10....


GPS shouldn't be drawing a quarter of that amount...

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2001 XR650R BRP (Big Red Pig)
2006 Honda 599 - Ex wrecked it :-D
2007 Honda CB900F (sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 02:30 PM
Immune
 
snowytgr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Manassas VA
Posts: 343
Rep Power: 1
 
a GPS will probably draw less than 1/8 of an amp

snowytgr1 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 02:38 PM
Princeps Prior
 
boogunoogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,957
Rep Power: 1
 
If you ever do decide to use more power for things like heated gear, just remember to change the fuse back to whatever came with the charger during the winter months. It's a 3 amps for a reason. I could get into those reasons if you want.

What I do, is I electrical tape a 15A fuse to my battery tender. That way in the spring, I put the 15A fuse into the bikes pigtail fuse holder. Then I tape the 7.5A fuse to the tender.
Once winter comes and I go to hook it up, I put the 7.5A fuse back in and tape the 15A fuse to the tender.

I have a heated jacket and gloves so 7.5A is not enough.

just so I don't forget. I also agree with google. The gps doesn't draw shit. But if you want look at the back of the gps and it should say what it draws for current.

boogunoogun is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-12-2012, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
Scrub919
 
mrmaguu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 69
Rep Power: 1
 
thanks guys for your help,Dale

mrmaguu is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome