basic shit I just dont know... help! - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 02-12-2012, 07:33 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
GreyHornet919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montebello, CA
Posts: 76
Rep Power: 1
 
basic shit I just dont know... help!

So i want to adj my throttle cable , but on the bar the barrel adjuster is maxxed out.... where do I pull the slack out at? (like how to get there/ tank removal needed?)

also when you do a oil change is it on a center /or rear stand or just on your side kick stand?

GreyHornet919 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 02-12-2012, 08:04 PM
TEXAN
 
MF1VE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 1,524
Rep Power: 1
 
For the oil change, I use the side stand. That way, teh oil can fall into a little open channel, and then run into a pan. I hate getting oil on the pipes.

MF1VE is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 02-12-2012, 08:09 PM
Princeps Prior
 
boogunoogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,957
Rep Power: 1
 
sounds like you might want to get some aftermarket levers. there are some cheap knock off ones on ebay that people seem to like

boogunoogun is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 Old 02-12-2012, 08:25 PM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,613
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Levers won't adjust slack in the cable, just the distance from the bar to where your fingers hit the lever.

If you have slack in the throttle cables, it might be time for new cables. Good luck with that, I hear it's a pita.

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2001 XR650R BRP (Big Red Pig)
2006 Honda 599 - Ex wrecked it :-D
2007 Honda CB900F (sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 02-12-2012, 08:50 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,759
Rep Power: 1
 
there's adjustments on the throttle body where the other end of the cables are attached to.

Pvster is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 02-12-2012, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
GreyHornet919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montebello, CA
Posts: 76
Rep Power: 1
 
Pv has the same idea I do... just not sure how to get to that end of te cable. the one on the bar is maxxed out.

GreyHornet919 is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 05:02 AM
Pilus Posterior
 
3dcycle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: St Johnsbury
Posts: 2,026
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation Outstanding Restoration Outstanding Restoration Outstanding Restoration 
Total Awards: 5

lift the tank you should be able to do it with the tank on just tilted up


and counting
3dcycle is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 06:06 AM
Princeps Prior
 
boogunoogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,957
Rep Power: 1
 
Whoops. I thought he wanted the levers closer. My b

boogunoogun is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 08:10 AM
just send it.
 
crakerjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,600
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
As far as oil changes go, I use the center stand. That's the only way I can get my oil pan under the bike.

As far as keeping oil off the headers, use tinfoil. You can mold the tinfoil to keep the oil off the headers and also drip the oil into your pan. When you are done, throw it out with the filter.



[This space for rent]
crakerjac is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 08:14 AM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
The Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 2,762
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran Extraordinary Ride Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Hey GreyHornet,

Like others have mentioned, raise the front of the tank up and see if you can get in there...

Also, when you make your adjustments, shorten the cables as much as you can on the right side control, and then max out the adjustment on the throttlebody end, then adjust to fit on the bars.

FYI, you are the first person I've heard from on here that needs to adjust that much slack out...including my 9er, with 40,000 miles on it! what's the issue? are the cables worn out?

Well, fire the engines! Spur this iron space-pony on!

"The Shadow"
The Shadow is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 01:09 PM
`
 
zaq123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: here n' there
Posts: 3,842
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 17

big PITA to do as there is not much room for your fingers. It fact there is zero room for your finger, get long handle needle nose.
How many miles on the bike? Since you need to get there anyway, get new cables, do it once and forget about it for awhile.

zaq123 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 03:09 PM
Optio
 
jay313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 833
Rep Power: 1
 
Drain oil on sidestand. Drain hole is on that side of the bike, so you'll get better drainage with it leaned toward the hole. I also use the tinfoil on the headers. Think that was one of the first tips I picked up here and put to use right away.

jay313 is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 05:36 PM
Tirone Choolaces
 
marylandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,120
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay313 View Post
Drain oil on sidestand. Drain hole is on that side of the bike, so you'll get better drainage with it leaned toward the hole. I also use the tinfoil on the headers. Think that was one of the first tips I picked up here and put to use right away.
I drain on the side stand too, don't need tinfoil on the headers down near the drain plug unless it's real windy. For the filter, this funnel makes the filter change a breeze


marylandmike is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 07:43 PM
Batman
 
velodesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fargo
Posts: 1,053
Blog Entries: 3
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by marylandmike

I drain on the side stand too, don't need tinfoil on the headers down near the drain plug unless it's real windy. For the filter, this funnel makes the filter change a breeze
Aren't you supposed to run your engine a bit prior to change?..doesn't that want to melt that plastic funnel? Maybe I'm doing it wrong :-(

I may not have a lot to say but it doesn't mean I don't listen.
velodesign is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 08:23 PM
Tirone Choolaces
 
marylandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,120
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by velodesign View Post
Aren't you supposed to run your engine a bit prior to change?..doesn't that want to melt that plastic funnel? Maybe I'm doing it wrong :-(
Yep, I drain from the plug first and by the time I get to the filter change , the headers have cooled down.

marylandmike is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 11:54 PM
no max no more
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: boston
Posts: 1,656
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by velodesign View Post
Aren't you supposed to run your engine a bit prior to change?..doesn't that want to melt that plastic funnel? Maybe I'm doing it wrong :-(
I usually change oil on a cold motor...

dont need a bike to ride the fast lane
secondchance is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 02-14-2012, 05:43 AM
Batman
 
velodesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fargo
Posts: 1,053
Blog Entries: 3
Rep Power: 1
 
Really? Bone cold motor? Hmmm. Here's my routine now that I think of it. Go for ride, park it. Grab chain lube, spray and walk. Grab tin foil, touch header, still warm, crack oil pan bolt, let it drain, crack filter, watch it drain, walk away and get yelled at by my wife for stealing her tin foil, come back and fill.

So your pan probably works great, would save me an earful from the wife to boot. I'll have to try that next time.

I may not have a lot to say but it doesn't mean I don't listen.
velodesign is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 02-14-2012, 06:31 AM
Princeps Prior
 
boogunoogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,957
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by velodesign
Really? Bone cold motor? Hmmm. Here's my routine now that I think of it. Go for ride, park it. Grab chain lube, spray and walk. Grab tin foil, touch header, still warm, crack oil pan bolt, let it drain, crack filter, watch it drain, walk away and get yelled at by my wife for stealing her tin foil, come back and fill.

So your pan probably works great, would save me an earful from the wife to boot. I'll have to try that next time.
Hahahahaha that whole post was awesome

boogunoogun is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 02-14-2012, 07:04 AM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,759
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by velodesign View Post
Really? Bone cold motor? Hmmm. Here's my routine now that I think of it. Go for ride, park it. Grab chain lube, spray and walk. Grab tin foil, touch header, still warm, crack oil pan bolt, let it drain, crack filter, watch it drain, walk away and get yelled at by my wife for stealing her tin foil, come back and fill.
wait..... you dont remove the oil pan bolt, you just crack it? and then you dont even replace it?! also, you just crack the oil filter but not remove it? then you dont replace it? how do you keep oil from spraying out of the cracks in the drain pan bolt and oil filter????











Pvster is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 02-14-2012, 01:05 PM
Batman
 
velodesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fargo
Posts: 1,053
Blog Entries: 3
Rep Power: 1
 
Ugh. If I typed my whole process on my phone it'd explode and I forgot to add 4 beers in there too.

I swear I'm not a 4 year old when I postbut I hardly ever use my computer at home anymore after staring at a monitor for 9+ hours a day...but I need to curb my wristtwister addiction somehow.

I may not have a lot to say but it doesn't mean I don't listen.
velodesign is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 02-14-2012, 01:58 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,759
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by velodesign View Post
Ugh. If I typed my whole process on my phone it'd explode and I forgot to add 4 beers in there too.
i'm just bustin your chops!

Pvster is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome