Anyone reuse the fuel pump gasket before? - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 06-06-2014, 07:17 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
redline919's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,894
Rep Power: 1
 
Anyone reuse the fuel pump gasket before?

I'm finally getting around to putting the new tank on that's been sitting in a box for 8 months. Just wondering if I should go ahead and order a new gasket? Or will I be ok? I have reused them before on GSXR bikes. Just want some feedback from experience. Thanks.

redline919 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 06-06-2014, 08:34 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
beefsalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,777
Blog Entries: 51
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

I've had the original gasket in and out of the 2002 I recently got ride of at least 3 times. Even with a broken stud it still holds.

if you love your motorcycle, set it free.. if it comes back and hits you.. you highsided
beefsalad is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-06-2014, 10:27 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,770
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by beefsalad View Post
I've had the original gasket in and out of the 2002 I recently got ride of at least 3 times. Even with a broken stud it still holds.
+1, done more than that and still holding just fine. Just make sure you don't tear it.

Pvster is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 Old 06-07-2014, 04:58 AM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
redline919's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,894
Rep Power: 1
 
Awesome. Thanks guys.

redline919 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-07-2014, 05:27 AM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
beefsalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,777
Blog Entries: 51
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Follow the torque spec! If your wrench starts out close to the value don't trust the wrench. I replaced 1 stud, said screw it and rolled with 1 broken when I snapped the next one.

if you love your motorcycle, set it free.. if it comes back and hits you.. you highsided
beefsalad is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-07-2014, 05:33 AM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
redline919's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,894
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by beefsalad View Post
Follow the torque spec! If your wrench starts out close to the value don't trust the wrench. I replaced 1 stud, said screw it and rolled with 1 broken when I snapped the next one.
Will do, thanks for the heads up!

redline919 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-07-2014, 06:56 AM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
I snapped a stud on mine as well on reinstall after painting my tank. Go easy on them.

HeliMech is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 06-07-2014, 08:53 AM
Ginger-prick
 
EatDirtFartDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 1,215
Rep Power: 1
 
My old tank had a broken stud and it didn't leak.
Transferred the pump with old gasket to my new tank and was very careful not to overtorque.
No leaks so far.

2007 Honda 919.
Used to be Red, now it's Green. Open for name suggestions.
EatDirtFartDust is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 06-07-2014, 08:54 AM
Ginger-prick
 
EatDirtFartDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 1,215
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeliMech View Post
I snapped a stud on mine as well on reinstall after painting my tank. Go easy on them.
Lock-tite
Hand-tight

I've learned the hard way on my car's intake.

2007 Honda 919.
Used to be Red, now it's Green. Open for name suggestions.
EatDirtFartDust is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 06-07-2014, 04:52 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior
 
redline919's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,894
Rep Power: 1
 
Ok tank installed. All is good. Thanks for all of the advice. I already ran a whole tank a gas through it today.

redline919 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 06-09-2014, 06:47 AM
Imaginifer
 
woodyeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 406
Rep Power: 1
 
Its all about feel, I very rarely use a torque wrench except for the head gasket, but heres a tip for you guys. Where possible use one of the small socket sets with the smallest ratchet as that will help you to put less leverage on what you are tightening up.

http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o222/woodyeee/IMAG0306.jpg
woodyeee is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome