919 and 599 headlight swap? - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 11 Old 10-29-2014, 06:49 AM Thread Starter
Discen

Garage
919 and 599 headlight swap?

Is it possible to put a '06 599 headlight on a '07 919? I'm thinking the 599 headlight will fit on the 919 but it looks like the 599 has two bulbs and the 919 has one. Anyway to make this work? I'm no electrician...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 10-29-2014, 07:02 AM
Semper Vigilo

post #3 of 11 Old 10-29-2014, 07:11 AM Thread Starter
Discen

Garage
Yeah I searched for the search bar. You know the one with the little magnifying glass... the one that isn't there. Just saw it in the middle of the tool bar.

my name is steve
i live in a box
my favorite color is clear

post #4 of 11 Old 10-29-2014, 07:33 AM
Ian

I have a 599 headlight on my 919. Its OEM build quality and relaibility in a stylish design.

post #5 of 11 Old 10-29-2014, 07:54 AM Thread Starter
Discen

Garage
Yeah I was just reading thru the older tread about the swap. Is that how you swapped yours Heli?

my name is steve
i live in a box
post #6 of 11 Old 10-29-2014, 08:12 AM
Ian

Yeah pretty much .... but I wired it up myself (like ROB-T described) so when you turn on the high beam the low beam stays on all the time. Great light output and has been issue free for a few years now.

- Wire the low beam (with a inline fuse) into the "key on hot" side of the ingnition key harness .... on the bike side of the harness so that if you have to switch out ignition key unit you won't have to mess with the headlight again.

- Wire the high beam into the original high beam trigger wire.

- Use the ground from the orignal hadlight wiring for both.

Orignally with the OEM 919 headlight when you hit the starter button the headlight cuts off dirrecting all available voltage to the starter .... if you wire it as described above you will lose this feature .... I have not had any problems with my set up like this.