600r ninja, strange problem. - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 01-27-2015, 03:32 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 74
Rep Power: 1
 
600r ninja, strange problem.

I have a 1986 zx600r ninja, that I've been working on. I tried to sync the carbs but the needles on the tool were jumping back and fourth. I assumed it was timing, but now that I can see all the marks right now it seems to be on time. I'm going to check into more detail on how in time it is. But if it's not on time, what else would make the carbs do that?

xecieon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 01-27-2015, 03:40 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 74
Rep Power: 1
 
Carbs are rebuildt btw

xecieon is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-27-2015, 03:43 PM
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Seaside, Oregon
Posts: 116
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by xecieon View Post
I have a 1986 zx600r ninja, that I've been working on. I tried to sync the carbs but the needles on the tool were jumping back and fourth. I assumed it was timing, but now that I can see all the marks right now it seems to be on time. I'm going to check into more detail on how in time it is. But if it's not on time, what else would make the carbs do that?
Do your gauges have dampers in the air lines?

1972 Honda CL350 "sold"
1981 Honda CB750 Custom "sold"
1983 Honda V45 "sold"
1975 Honda 400F "sold"
1978 Honda 750K "sold"
1969 CT70K0
1980 CBX "sold"
2006 900F 919
SanDogDewey is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 01-27-2015, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 74
Rep Power: 1
 
Not going to lie, idk what those are...so I assume not.

xecieon is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 01-27-2015, 03:54 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
beefsalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,777
Blog Entries: 51
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Sounds like an air leak to me.

if you love your motorcycle, set it free.. if it comes back and hits you.. you highsided
beefsalad is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-27-2015, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 74
Rep Power: 1
 
I've check for leaks I don't believe there is one. I'll check again

xecieon is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-27-2015, 06:28 PM
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Seaside, Oregon
Posts: 116
Rep Power: 1
 
I use Carbtune indicators. They have restrictors or dampers in the lines to smooth out the reading.

SanDogDewey is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-27-2015, 07:05 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 74
Rep Power: 1
 
It's an obvious jump back like something is sacking it backwards

xecieon is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-31-2015, 05:11 AM
Discen
 
deandeib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boothwyn
Posts: 298
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 6

Sure sounds like there are no restrictors in the lines. Without some restrictors to dampen the oscillation in pressure, the gauges will jump around like hell. In my Motion Pro Sync Pro tool, each tube has a small brass plug with a tiny hole in it. The tiny holes allow the vacuum to build up more slowly to reach its true value. Think of them acting as averaging the oscillations you see when they are not in the lines. Not sure of the size of your vacuum lines but you may be able to buy and use Motion Pro restrictors in you gauges.

deandeib is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-09-2015, 04:27 PM
Tirone
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Stow
Posts: 72
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deandeib View Post
Sure sounds like there are no restrictors in the lines. Without some restrictors to dampen the oscillation in pressure, the gauges will jump around like hell. In my Motion Pro Sync Pro tool, each tube has a small brass plug with a tiny hole in it. The tiny holes allow the vacuum to build up more slowly to reach its true value. Think of them acting as averaging the oscillations you see when they are not in the lines. Not sure of the size of your vacuum lines but you may be able to buy and use Motion Pro restrictors in you gauges.
Excellent write up. Now for those that have a ridiculous amount of vacuum gauges ,you can head to your local aquarium store and pick up air line restrictors. I've been using them for over 8 years.
They work perfect and only cost 3 bucks for a dozen

LoopsandLogic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome