Single Exhaust Conversion - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 6 Old 01-09-2016, 12:04 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

Single Exhaust Conversion

Hi everybody, I'm new to the world bikes and just had a question about the single under exhaust for the 919. I understand what is involved in doing it for the most part as finding it in the forums and online was easy enough but my main question is should I do it or not? I have Erion Racing exhausts on my 2003 919 but I really do like the look of the single under exhaust (reminds me of a SV650). Would anyone know if I would gain power or lose power and in what rev range would I gain/lose it. I did some research and from what I can gather I have one of the better pipes on the market for the bike and they don't sound too bad either . So my main question is pros and cons of single exhaust vs my exhaust both with a power commander. Thank you to everyone who helps.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 01-09-2016, 02:34 PM
Community Moderator

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

You will lose mid-range but gain some top end. It helps to get a proper dyno-tune after the change, but some have just used the single-side exhaust maps provided in the Dropbox folder.

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2001 XR650R BRP (Big Red Pig)
2006 Honda 599 - Ex wrecked it :-D
2007 Honda CB900F (sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
post #3 of 6 Old 01-09-2016, 03:26 PM
Aquilifer

The single side exhaust actually has a little better dyno numbers then most slip-ons/systems. Not sure that I'm that "in tune" to notice a difference thou. However it does remove a fair amount of weight that is pretty high on the bike.

post #4 of 6 Old 01-10-2016, 03:04 AM
Left of Centre

You will certainly drop some weight, and from an awkward place, but one big change is to the way the bike looks - what do you prefer?