Second Hand PC3 - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 19 Old 04-02-2012, 12:04 AM Thread Starter
Immune

Second Hand PC3

So I have the opportunity to grab a second power commander 3 USB. However I have no experience with any PC's at all. So I'm a little uncertain. I have read the installation instruction on the website and it looks pretty straight forward. The one I'm buying doesn't have the cd that comes with them new, or the mini USB, but I figure I can download the software, and a mini USB is cheap to buy. I haven't done any mods, but when I do a set of pipes I intend to add a PC, and maybe have it dyno'd. Besides I hear that even on a stock bike a PC makes a big difference. Around town I did find the throttle a little jerky. So my questions are:
1) Is buying a second hand power commander smart, or should I save and get a new one?
2) are there any vital components, leads etc that I'll need excluding the USB?
3) currently the map is for a set of after market cans, is it easy to change the map using the software on a computer?
Any other in put would be greatly appreciated. Clearly I'm a noob on this subject so all input is welcome!
Thanks WT!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 04-02-2012, 01:14 AM
Left of Centre

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate919 View Post
Besides I hear that even on a stock bike a PC makes a big difference. Around town I did find the throttle a little jerky.

Thanks WT!
I can confirm that part. I have a stone stock bike, in terms of pipes etc, and would not give up my PC iii for the world. I'm reminded of its value (in smoothing the throttle) every time I shift gear, and certainly every time I have to trickle along in traffic - which is all the time. Totally worth it, even if you never rev it past (a number I won't reveal here) and couldn't give a monkey's about pure peak hp numbers.

Lots of maps loose in WT-land, choose one, run it, change it etc. easiest thing in
the world.