Scorpio Install - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old 10-07-2013, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Tool & Die
 
morrow919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NWGA
Posts: 2,187
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

Scorpio Install

Before I start the install, does anyone have any pointers about where to locate this Scorpio alarm that came in the mail this afternoon? Curtousy of HeliMech, thanks man.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

'07 Hornet - Candy Glory Red
morrow919 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 10-07-2013, 06:55 PM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
I removed a plastic tab from the l/h side of my undertail, making a flat spot. Thats where my alarm is installed. Try to keep the antenna away from metal, and be careful it is redicously loud if activated indoors!

HeliMech is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 10-07-2013, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
Tool & Die
 
morrow919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NWGA
Posts: 2,187
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

Hummm. That's where my PCIII is. Lol
Wheres your PCIII then?

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

'07 Hornet - Candy Glory Red
morrow919 is offline  
 
post #4 of 19 Old 10-07-2013, 07:04 PM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
I have a corbin seat so I have LOTS more clearance under the seat, I run my PC3 right on the center frame spine. I can get some pics in the morning but I know from helping another member install his PC3 at my place, the OEM seat sucks for pan clearance and you can't set things up the way I have them...... we tried.

HeliMech is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 10-07-2013, 07:32 PM Thread Starter
Tool & Die
 
morrow919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NWGA
Posts: 2,187
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

Well thanks for the input anyway. Maybe someone can chime in that has a stock seat with a PCIII and alarm.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

'07 Hornet - Candy Glory Red
morrow919 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 10-07-2013, 07:52 PM
(-(-(-(-(- -)-)-)-)-)
 
andrewebay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,883
Rep Power: 1
 
If you can't find a spot under the seat, you could upgrade to a Shorai battery and use the extra space instead of using spacers. Without the padding you're suppose to use, there's a ton of space in the battery box to slide it into.

My classified(s):
Nothing at the moment

----------------
------------
---------
------
---
- '96 Race-retired GSXR 750 (Sold)
- '01 RC51 SP1 (Sold)
- '03 919

"Security is mostly a superstition, it does not exist in nature: avoiding danger in the long run is no safer than outright being exposed. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."-Helen Keller
andrewebay1 is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 10-08-2013, 05:44 AM Thread Starter
Tool & Die
 
morrow919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NWGA
Posts: 2,187
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

I hate to do that, I just bought a new battery last season. Besides, with my recent 9er upgrades, I'm kinda tapped out at the moment.

'07 Hornet - Candy Glory Red
morrow919 is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 10-08-2013, 05:47 AM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
The scorpio unit is small and should be easy enough to hide in the tail somewhere.

Can u post a pic of your current under seat area/setup?

HeliMech is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 10-08-2013, 06:11 AM Thread Starter
Tool & Die
 
morrow919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NWGA
Posts: 2,187
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

Yeah. I'll go out to the parking lot on break and snap a pic. I asked in another thread, but do you think I need to get a distribtion block for the grounds. I've already got two grounds added at the battery, the alarm will make it three. I'm thinking the only issue is space.?

'07 Hornet - Candy Glory Red
morrow919 is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 10-08-2013, 06:54 AM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
badmoon692008's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 2,218
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Extraordinary Ride 
Total Awards: 1

I know I had a tough time even adding a second set of leads to my battery. Had a connection for a battery tender on it from the previous owner, and wired in a battery charger for my iron butt... it took me a solid half hour and some gentle forcefullness to get the battery back in. I would suggest adding a distribution block. I'm assuming if you're talking about doing it for the ground that your battery goes in ground first? mine was in positive first when I got the bike...

badmoon692008 is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 10-08-2013, 07:04 AM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
You don't need a distribution block for additional grounds.

Just use the frame. The frame is the primary grounding circuit for tge entire machine. I have a bunch of aftermarket accessories and have drilled tapped and bonded two different ground points fwd and aft.

The steel frame is easy to tap and work with, good wall thicjbessr and very sturdy.

HeliMech is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 10-08-2013, 07:09 AM Thread Starter
Tool & Die
 
morrow919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NWGA
Posts: 2,187
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

My battery is in Positive post first too. It's just a pain trying to stack several grounds on it. I thought about grounding to the frame, but wasn't sure. Usually the easiest solution is the best, drill...tap and done. Do you happen to know the wall thickness of the frame off hand, or remember what size tap you used for the ground screws?

'07 Hornet - Candy Glory Red
morrow919 is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 10-08-2013, 07:23 AM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
The wall thickness is decent. You get at least 2-3 threads cut.

I use the same stainless bolts i sell with the PAIR plates. Not 100% sure on thread and pitch.... maybe m6x1.25.

HeliMech is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 10-08-2013, 07:40 AM Thread Starter
Tool & Die
 
morrow919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NWGA
Posts: 2,187
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

Cool. I believe ive got a tap close to that size. Heres the pic under my seat. Nothings permanently placed. Im picking up some velcro this afternoon and routing the wires under the frame to permanently place the PC and alarm.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1381239304194.jpg (136.6 KB, 17 views)

'07 Hornet - Candy Glory Red
morrow919 is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 10-09-2013, 08:16 AM
Discen
 
abadacus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 297
Rep Power: 1
 
I hope you have more luck than me.. I have an i800 that I just dont use anymore because is constantly throws out false alarms...
Thr RFID auto on/off didn't work either..

Just as aerodynamic airplanes are simple and streamlined, a motorcycle--which manages to balance an engine and a seat between two wheels--has a mechanical integrity, with intertwining pipes, chains and springs, that is fascinating to behold - Peter Plagens
abadacus is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 10-09-2013, 09:06 AM Thread Starter
Tool & Die
 
morrow919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NWGA
Posts: 2,187
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

I hope so too. Sorry to hear about your luck with the 800. So far it seems to work fine, i just need to relocate the proximity sensor so that it picks up well from both sides of the bike. Right now it picks up real well from the front, back, and on the clutch side but not too good on the break side. I havent tried the auto arm and disarm yet, havent been able to get the transever to activate it. Im going to take a closer look at it at lunch.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

'07 Hornet - Candy Glory Red
morrow919 is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 10-09-2013, 09:30 AM
Ian
 
HeliMech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3,313
Rep Power: 1
 
Nice man, good to hear its working well. I know the units history and its was always treated well with minimal use. Previous owners bike lived in heated underground parking 99% of the time.


Did you wire in the lights to flash? Hows the noise level?

HeliMech is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 10-09-2013, 11:05 AM Thread Starter
Tool & Die
 
morrow919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NWGA
Posts: 2,187
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

Yep. The blinkers flash when arming and disarming. The volume is really good. I relocated the proximity sensor under the tail instead of next to the frame and it works great now. However I cant get the auto arm and disarm to work. Unfortunately scorpio was no help. The guy told me that its an old model that never had that feature! What the heck is this then?

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1381338327387.jpg (72.1 KB, 10 views)

'07 Hornet - Candy Glory Red
morrow919 is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 10-09-2013, 11:08 AM Thread Starter
Tool & Die
 
morrow919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NWGA
Posts: 2,187
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

O, and heres a pic of where I've got everything routed.


Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1381338493873.jpg (130.3 KB, 14 views)

'07 Hornet - Candy Glory Red
morrow919 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome