Power Commander Maps - Wrist Twisters
 9Likes
  • 1 Post By mcromo44
  • 1 Post By Islandboy
  • 2 Post By mcromo44
  • 2 Post By Diablo
  • 1 Post By mcromo44
  • 2 Post By Diablo
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 07-19-2018, 11:36 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Buderim
Posts: 200
Rep Power: 1
 
Power Commander Maps

I just received my Power CommanderIII USB.
Last week I put on some Mivv X Cone slip ons, but my K&N air filter is still in the mail.
The exhaust gives a really noticeable boost right through the rev range, and sounds great, without being too loud, although there is a removable decibel killer.

Any suggestions as to what maps may be a good starting point.
I have no idea where to start, I have updated the firmware, but that's all so far.
I would really appreciate some tips if anyone feels so inclined.
Thanks in advance, it's Friday night here and I'll be spending tomorrow setting it up.

In typical Italian fashion, Mivv recommends using a Power commander in some of their info, and says to go to their web page, but there's nothing there re maps, only saying you don't need them.

Diablo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 07:22 AM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,455
Rep Power: 1
 
Use djm format map mw919mori4
It's in the Dropbox.
If you don't have access to the Dropbox, PM me an e mail address to send you that map plus a few others to have handy.
Be sure to synch your PC to the bike.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 02:32 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Buderim
Posts: 200
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcromo44 View Post
Use djm format map mw919mori4
It's in the Dropbox.
If you don't have access to the Dropbox, PM me an e mail address to send you that map plus a few others to have handy.
Be sure to synch your PC to the bike.
How do I sync it with the bike?

I have opened the map with PCIII and clicked on send map.
Do I need to use the buttons now?
Do you have to remove the PCIII every time you try a map, or get a really long USB cable?

Diablo is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 03:31 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,455
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diablo View Post
How do I sync it with the bike?

I have opened the map with PCIII and clicked on send map.
Do I need to use the buttons now?
Do you have to remove the PCIII every time you try a map, or get a really long USB cable?
1
Go to the Power Commander website.
Get to PCIIIUSB Downloads.
Get to Tutorials.
Go the last one which is titled "How to set the Throttle Position values".
Download it, and watch it carefully step by step.
Do not do the Closed only setting, instead, do both Closed and Open, meaning "Reset" will be used.
Do not have the "engine running" when you do the Open setting and see 4 below for more on this point.

2
Connect your computer to the bike via the PC's usb port.

3
It is imperative that the bike be fully warmed up such that it is idling smoothly at the correct RPMs.
Use 1200 RPM for this, not the +/- 100 RPM range the 919 manual shows.
It is at least equally imperative that the throttle cables not be binding and have some free play, to ensure the throttle control mechanism is not affecting the idle speed.
I always make a point of making sure the front wheel is straight ahead as part of this.

4
Turn your key on to the "run" position. (where it would be if the engine was running)
Now do the work that needs to be done.
You can do it this way with a 919, but, for example, you can't with an 06 or 07 GSX-R - in which case those engines has to be running.
Such work can be done on a 919 bike without using the remote power 9 v battery attachment that comes with the PCIIIusb.

5
If you are a newbie to this, also check to be sure that map you think you installed, really did get sent and accepted by the PC.
One does this by using the "Get map" button.
(It's been so long since I have done it, I can't remember if one has to resend after having done a get)
There's a nice tutorial about how to send a map, titled "How to send a map to the Power Commander".

6
Power Commander website PCIIIusb specific Tutorials.
The list on the website shows 9, but there are actually only 8 as both the Tutorials "How to change the RPM resolution" and "How to import a ".map" (older PCIII/IIIr) file" actually use same Tutorial which if you try to download, reads as being file titled "Import map".

7
Next I will create a document that contains all the above, plus images of the path through the Power Commander website.
It will go in the Dropbox.
It will be in the 1 McRomo44 Compilation within the Power Commander Files section.
Islandboy likes this.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 03:41 PM
919 Rider
 
Islandboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Flinders island
Posts: 1,909
Rep Power: 1
 
Mcromo...Your a legend.
I was hoping you'd answer his question. I just would've made a mess of it. 👍

Islandboy is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Buderim
Posts: 200
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcromo44 View Post
1
Go to the Power Commander website.
Get to PCIIIUSB Downloads.
Get to Tutorials.
Go the last one which is titled "How to set the Throttle Position values".
Download it, and watch it carefully step by step.
Do not do the Closed only setting, instead, do both Closed and Open, meaning "Reset" will be used.
Do not have the "engine running" when you do the Open setting and see 4 below for more on this point.

2
Connect your computer to the bike via the PC's usb port.

3
It is imperative that the bike be fully warmed up such that it is idling smoothly at the correct RPMs.
Use 1200 RPM for this, not the +/- 100 RPM range the 919 manual shows.
It is at least equally imperative that the throttle cables not be binding and have some free play, to ensure the throttle control mechanism is not affecting the idle speed.
I always make a point of making sure the front wheel is straight ahead as part of this.

4
Turn your key on to the "run" position. (where it would be if the engine was running)
Now do the work that needs to be done.
You can do it this way with a 919, but, for example, you can't with an 06 or 07 GSX-R - in which case those engines has to be running.
Such work can be done on a 919 bike without using the remote power 9 v battery attachment that comes with the PCIIIusb.

5
If you are a newbie to this, also check to be sure that map you think you installed, really did get sent and accepted by the PC.
One does this by using the "Get map" button.
(It's been so long since I have done it, I can't remember if one has to resend after having done a get)
There's a nice tutorial about how to send a map, titled "How to send a map to the Power Commander".

6
Power Commander website PCIIIusb specific Tutorials.
The list on the website shows 9, but there are actually only 8 as both the Tutorials "How to change the RPM resolution" and "How to import a ".map" (older PCIII/IIIr) file" actually use same Tutorial which if you try to download, reads as being file titled "Import map".

7
Next I will create a document that contains all the above, plus images of the path through the Power Commander website.
It will go in the Dropbox.
It will be in the 1 McRomo44 Compilation within the Power Commander Files section.
Awesome, Thanks Mcromo.

Only trouble is my Laptop carked it, and my PC is too big to move.
May if I put all my USB extensions together it will get there.

Diablo is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 04:20 PM
919 Rider
 
Islandboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Flinders island
Posts: 1,909
Rep Power: 1
 
Ride your bike into the house!
Diablo likes this.

Islandboy is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 04:24 PM
919 Rider
 
Islandboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Flinders island
Posts: 1,909
Rep Power: 1
 
Sorry about that. Smart arse comments won't help.
Could you pop into a electronics store and pick up a long USB cable?

Islandboy is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 04:42 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,455
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Islandboy View Post
Mcromo...Your a legend.
I was hoping you'd answer his question. I just would've made a mess of it. 👍
You Sir are too kind.
You must want something.
Hmmmm, is the price of your honey about to take a jump? LoL!
I'm here to help.....................

mcromo44 is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 04:45 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,455
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diablo View Post
Awesome, Thanks Mcromo.

Only trouble is my Laptop carked it, and my PC is too big to move.
May if I put all my USB extensions together it will get there.
Can you borrow a laptop from someone, load the software, do the job, then delete the software and return it?
Otherwise, I guess you'll need a long usb patch chord.
(Before we had wireless in house, I was using a 50 ft. long one that went from the modem upstairs down to my home office. It worked A OK.)

mcromo44 is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 05:20 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,455
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diablo View Post
Awesome, Thanks Mcromo.

Only trouble is my Laptop carked it, and my PC is too big to move.
May if I put all my USB extensions together it will get there.
Here's why you really do want to take the time to synch your Power Commander:
Synch the PC III to the T P first.
Think of it this way.
The basic map is in the ECU which the T P is connected to.
The PCIII is a piggy back device.
It does not hold a map, and instead holds a map adjustment.
So when your ECU is ready to send a pulse width signal to the fuel injectors, the PCIII makes a small adjustment to the pulse width signal.
The ECU map is a co-ordinate map based on a matrix of % Throttle Opening X RPM.
(It’s actually more complex than the aforementioned, but for now, view it that way and further below will be a more complete and accurate info on the matter.)
The PCIII adjustment is written into a matching co-ordinate map.
Now think of the two maps as two grids that have to be perfectly aligned with one another, just like two pieces of graph paper stacked so the lines are exactly matched.
When you synch the PCIII to the T P, it's just like the graph paper analogy I described above.
To give you an idea of what can happen if you don't, here is a real world example. Engine at 2 % throttle opening, RPM @ 1500. PCIII Closed Throttle Position error of + 3 %. What happens is that the PCIII will alter the ECU 2 % x 1500 RPM output with a 5 % x 1500 RPM based pulse width adjustment, and the fueling will be wrong for the actual engine condition.
My 919 was out 2 %.
My son's 600 GSXR was out 5 % !

The mapping the ECU holds is actually more complex than described above.
If you want to know more about it, read on:
Firstly, the ECU actually contains two maps, one is a Speed-Density Map, the other is a Speed-Throttle Map.
Secondly, both of them are 3 axis X x Y x Z maps, not simple X x Y 2 axis maps.
But the Power Commander only adjusts two of the three axis, namely the RPM and Throttle Position axes.
The ECU selects which ‘Speed map to use.
(Which also means there is a transition zone between the two, and that zone will surely vary as a function of a number of parameters inputted to the ECU to enable the change map decision.)
Both Maps determine a required volume to be injected, said volume controlled by the ECU issued pulse width signal to each injector, all being highly reliant upon a stable and standardized fuel rail pressure level in order for the determined volume delivery requirement to even be possible on a repeatable basis.

The Speed-Density Map is used for Low Loads X Low TP % Openings, and is dominated by the MAP and RPM (my understanding is that high RPMs under no load are controlled by S-D M’).

The Speed-Throttle Map is used for Higher Loads and Larger Low TP % Openings, and is dominated by the % TP Opening and RPM.

Because the PC is a piggyback device only, it does not hold complete maps. It only holds map changes on a RPM x Throttle Position co-ordinate map basis, for continuous real time layering upon the respective RPM x Throttle Position co-ordinates of the two ‘Speed maps in the ECU.
Islandboy and thegutterpoet like this.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Buderim
Posts: 200
Rep Power: 1
 
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Islandboy View Post
Ride your bike into the house!
Not such a bad idea you know, only have to bend the mirrors around.
It's only 1 step, and it's all tiled.
Haha, problem solved.
mcromo44 and Islandboy like this.

Diablo is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 05:42 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,455
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diablo View Post
Not such a bad idea you know, only have to bend the mirrors around.
It's only 1 step, and it's all tiled.
Haha, problem solved.
I like it!

mcromo44 is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 05:48 PM
919 Rider
 
Islandboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Flinders island
Posts: 1,909
Rep Power: 1
 
I like it too. Piece of board for a ramp. Go for it. I'd love to get my bike inside the house.
Good luck mate.

Islandboy is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 05:56 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,455
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Islandboy View Post
I like it too. Piece of board for a ramp. Go for it. I'd love to get my bike inside the house.
Good luck mate.
Back in the day, I had friend with a Norton.
(Same guy that drilled and laced my Akront rims for my SOHC CB750, he was an ace wheel builder amongst other things.)
He moved out of home and into a small walk up apartment block.
I mean an very early 50s narrow stairs/narrow hallways build and every turn tight.
He was on the second floor, which was half a story up from street level.
Somehow he got that bike through the door, around the stairwell turns, through his door, and into the apartment.
He put it smack in the middle of the weeny living room.
To look at, and work on.
His girlfriend didn't appreciate his decor..................
Islandboy likes this.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 05:57 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,455
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Islandboy View Post
I like it too. Piece of board for a ramp. Go for it. I'd love to get my bike inside the house.
Good luck mate.
With that nice spiffy garage you now have ?????
garage is code speak for Bike House

mcromo44 is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Buderim
Posts: 200
Rep Power: 1
 
It's all installed, I crimped the wire instead of soldering, it's just easier.
I loaded the map Mcromo44 suggested from LDH, but will try others as I get the hang of it.
Bike started OK, only ran it for 5 seconds as I have an open house after lunch, and have to do some tidying up, so will try these excellent suggestions as I get time.
Great winters day here, no wind, no clouds, 16C at 11am, should get to 19C and I want to go for a ride.

Diablo is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 06:11 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,455
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diablo View Post
It's all installed, I crimped the wire instead of soldering, it's just easier.
I loaded the map Mcromo44 suggested from LDH, but will try others as I get the hang of it.
Bike started OK, only ran it for 5 seconds as I have an open house after lunch, and have to do some tidying up, so will try these excellent suggestions as I get time.
Great winters day here, no wind, no clouds, 16C at 11am, should get to 19C and I want to go for a ride.
Excellent!

mcromo44 is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 07-20-2018, 10:33 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Buderim
Posts: 200
Rep Power: 1
 
It's in, will make life easier now.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180721_152009.jpg (195.3 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg 20180721_152022.jpg (128.7 KB, 10 views)
mcromo44 and Islandboy like this.

Diablo is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 07-21-2018, 05:51 AM
919 Rider
 
Islandboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Flinders island
Posts: 1,909
Rep Power: 1
 
Diablo. Well done mate. In the front, through the house and out the back?

Islandboy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome