Ohlins tuning - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 16 Old 11-19-2014, 09:53 AM Thread Starter
dazed and confused

Ohlins tuning

I was going to PM LDH, but decided that it'd be good to have as a thread so others might benefit/offer advice.

I have had the HO201 shock from Ohlins and have been having trouble getting it dialed in.

Straight out of the box (sag set to 25mm) the ride was harsh and bounced me out of my seat a bit on the bigger bumps. I took it for a 100 mile ride and found a good high-speed setup (on a sheet at home, don't remember it off the top of my head), but I have been struggling to come up with a commuting setup. I've been getting bounced in the seat, and by the time I adjust that out, it's nothing but mush (too little compression damping). My commute consists of 25-35 mph zones over mediocre streets and one set of train tracks.

Disclaimer: I am brand new to dealing with suspension. I have a firm grasp on exactly what each form of dampening does physically, but I'm struggling with correlating adjustments in the suspension to the corresponding behavior of the bike.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 11-19-2014, 10:09 AM
LDH
Test Rider

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Referral Award 
Total Awards: 2

25mm of rider sag is something we would use on a ZX-10R for race use. You need to be running closer to 30 or even 35mm of sag.

The luggage you carry way out over the back of the bike which is behind the rear axle will throw off your feel a bit because that acts as leverage on the swingarm especially when loaded, but overall you should never have to deviate more than 2 or 3 clicks of compression ever and unless you are on a super smooth ribbon of asphalt I wouldn't touch the rebound at all.

post #3 of 16 Old 11-19-2014, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
dazed and confused