new plugs and wires - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
MSF blacksheep
 
Ferris Bueller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: C-U, IL
Posts: 721
Rep Power: 1
 
new plugs and wires

Just installed new ng iridium plugs and ngk race wires. Everything works great and looks even better. Pics of new wires and old plugs included. Notice the brown on the 4th cylinder plug. Any ideas what's wrong?






Ferris Bueller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 12:00 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
beefsalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,776
Blog Entries: 51
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Wasn't torqued down properly, allowing exhaust gases to blow by?

if you love your motorcycle, set it free.. if it comes back and hits you.. you highsided
beefsalad is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
MSF blacksheep
 
Ferris Bueller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: C-U, IL
Posts: 721
Rep Power: 1
 
That's my guess. I've stripped stuff out before so i tend to under tighten sensitive parts. I hope that's all it is. I did tighten the new plugs a little tighter.

Ferris Bueller is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 12:47 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,759
Rep Power: 1
 
wish there were plug wires in another color than red!

Pvster is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 01:15 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,529
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferris Bueller View Post
Just installed new ng iridium plugs and ngk race wires. Everything works great and looks even better. Pics of new wires and old plugs included. Notice the brown on the 4th cylinder plug. Any ideas what's wrong?





Not being able to tell if it's wet or baked and fused, my guess is that it is either extruded thread lube from when the plugs were put in, or valve cover area leakage into the spark plug well past the seal.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 01:16 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,529
Rep Power: 1
 
Where did you get those boots and wires ?
Are the boots and/or wires resistance type or not ?

mcromo44 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 02:53 PM
Serial Monogamist
 
ST-DocLizard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hampton, NJ
Posts: 1,495
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 21

Quote:
Originally Posted by beefsalad View Post
Wasn't torqued down properly, allowing exhaust gases to blow by?
That would be my guess.


Doc



"FRIENDS DON'T LET FRIENDS EARLY APEX."
ST-DocLizard1 is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 03:02 PM
Serial Monogamist
 
ST-DocLizard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hampton, NJ
Posts: 1,495
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 21

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferris Bueller View Post
That's my guess. I've stripped stuff out before so i tend to under tighten sensitive parts. I hope that's all it is. I did tighten the new plugs a little tighter.
If you don't have a torque wrench, I have always gone with 180 degrees from hand tight on a new plug/crush washer. Ninety degrees on a used plug.

Spark Plug Installation Instructions

Doc



"FRIENDS DON'T LET FRIENDS EARLY APEX."
ST-DocLizard1 is online now  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 03:04 PM Thread Starter
MSF blacksheep
 
Ferris Bueller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: C-U, IL
Posts: 721
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcromo44 View Post
Where did you get those boots and wires ?
Are the boots and/or wires resistance type or not ?
Ordered them from the local shop. They use parts unlimited. I don't know if they are resistor type or not. The use the same cr8ehix-9 plug as the stock wires.

Ferris Bueller is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 05:07 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
can you wipe the "brown stuff" off the 4th plug... often times its just a lil oil that seeps down the spark plug tube from the valve cover... nothing to worry about.

also i woulda stuck with standard plugs... proven to produce more power in the long run, as the iridium tips tend to round making it harder for a spark to form.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 05:43 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,529
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh View Post

also i woulda stuck with standard plugs... proven to produce more power in the long run, as the iridium tips tend to round making it harder for a spark to form.
I think whenever such an effect occurs, it's all or primarily a function of ground wire erosion, seeing as the centres last so much longer thus the grounds erode away a much greater amount before changeout time.

Also, I think that whenever such an effect occurs, it's only at full load, in other words full throttle.

mcromo44 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 05:45 PM
McTavish
 
mcromo44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 5,529
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferris Bueller View Post
Ordered them from the local shop. They use parts unlimited. I don't know if they are resistor type or not. The use the same cr8ehix-9 plug as the stock wires.
What about the boot covers to seal off the spark plug wells at the top of the valve cover ?

mcromo44 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 06:14 PM
rmb
Let's go!
 
rmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sussex Couty NJ
Posts: 7,647
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcromo44 View Post
What about the boot covers to seal off the spark plug wells at the top of the valve cover ?
+1, lots of stuff can build up in there over time...

rmb is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 07-08-2011, 06:23 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcromo44 View Post
I think whenever such an effect occurs, it's all or primarily a function of ground wire erosion, seeing as the centres last so much longer thus the grounds erode away a much greater amount before changeout time.

Also, I think that whenever such an effect occurs, it's only at full load, in other words full throttle.
you would be surprised... those center electrodes on irridiums round off pretty quick. LDH has done some dyno testing. on the subject if im not mistaken.


and yes, you are gotta make sure you have the lil caps that cover the spark plug hole there.... dont want stuffs gettin down in there.... theres probably weep holes but even then... every type of OHC setup has caps that cover those holes for a reason.

nd4spdbh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome