Bar End Mirror Problems - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 10 Old 05-23-2013, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

Bar End Mirror Problems

Hello everyone,
I am new to wrist twisters. My name is Armando and I have been riding for 8 years. I have a 2007 Honda 919 Hornet and have just bought Driven D axis Bar end mirrors with the bar end mount. However, the problem I am running into is the bar end mounts that come with it are the kind that expand the rubber as you tighten. As some of you I am sure know the 919 has the female bolt on bar ends. Is there a way to remove this interior female end? If not any advice would be great.

thanks
Armando

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 05-24-2013, 05:26 AM
Serial Monogamist

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 21

Probably use the same method as when adding a throttlemeister. Remove the stock bar end and thread a bolt of the same size into the hole backed up by a washer that is larger than the O.D. of the handlebar. As you tighten the threaded bolt, the insert creeps its way out.

"FRIENDS DON'T LET FRIENDS EARLY APEX."
post #3 of 10 Old 05-24-2013, 05:27 AM
Tirone Choolaces

Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

There is a little tab that locks it into the handlebars. In order to get to it you have to remove the grips, or at least far enough to expose the tab and push it in with a screwdriver.

Doc's method will probably work just as well, it forces the tab to straighten out.

post #4 of 10 Old 05-24-2013, 05:33 AM
Tool & Die

Awards Showcase
Motorcycle Picture Game Award 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by marylandmike View Post
There is a little tab that locks it into the handlebars. In order to get to it you have to remove the grips, or at least far enough to expose the tab and push it in with a screwdriver.