Unsure of Chinese Quality... - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 8 Old 06-07-2010, 08:24 PM Thread Starter
Allons-y!

Garage
Unsure of Chinese Quality...

But they sure picked the right thing to copy. Any thoughts on a FlyScooters Scout? It seems to be the only way we'll get a new Super Cub here in the US, except for that ugly symba thing. Any thoughts?

Fly Scout | flyscooters.com

"Reason is not automatic. Those who deny it cannot be conquered by it" ~ Ayn Rand
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 06-07-2010, 08:30 PM
Pilus Posterior

Copyright!!!!!! Looks like someone pulled apart a Honda steppie and took some casting off it!

I've no experience with that specific brand - Google away for reports.

We have had a lot of chinese scooters come into New Zealand over the past 3-4 years and unfortunately the majority of them have been good for a ride to town and back only! There have been some horror stories of failures of parts due to very poor metal quality.

post #3 of 8 Old 06-07-2010, 08:38 PM
Tirone

My wife picked up a cheap Chinese scooter at a garage sale with a flat rear tire. The engineering was awful. The rear bearing race was made out of a Chinese beer can cut with tin snips!

post #4 of 8 Old 06-07-2010, 09:12 PM
Le So Cal Troll

it really depends on what you get.

I have a chinese z50 remake... has 10k miles on it and they are beat to hell jumping and off roading miles. i swapped out the original 50cc motor for a chinese 110cc @ 3400mi and that lasted till 8ishk miles when i had a chain ball up in the front of the front sprocket cus it fell off the rear (too loose and doing doughnuts = no bueno) so i put the original 50cc motor back in and its the beater z50... poor little thing... took it up to mammoth mtn last summer and 9000ft elevation + 50cc motor + my buddy @ 180lbs.... 1st gear WOT was just about all that could be used to get him up any thing... so it spent most of its time on the rev limiter... still runs just fine haha.