Rear tire size - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 9 Old 01-31-2006, 02:43 PM Thread Starter
Pilus Posterior

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 1

Rear tire size

On 600cc bikes, it comes stock with a rear tire size of 180/..... and on a 1000cc bike, they come stock with 190/.....

Now the question is, some of the guys that I ride with will swap out the rear tire on their litre bike for a 180 rear tire, they swear it turns in better. Since I have no real experience with this, is there any truth to this as I've already talked to the dealership about swapping the rear tire out before picking the R1 up.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-31-2006, 03:07 PM
Wookie

Awards Showcase
Donation 

The 600cc bikes have 5.5 inch rims, which fit 180 tires. Liters have 6inch rims and fit on 190 tires.

The 190 on most, if not all liter bikes is a 50 series tire and less 'pointy' than the 180 which is a 55 series tire.

When you take a 180 and put it on a 6 inch rim, it stretchs it out a little to fit it. It still a little more 'pointy' than a 190/50 so yes, the turn it will quicken on some. The downside is that you have less of a contact patch when you are leaning it the corner pretty good.

Alot of tire manufactures made a 190/55 tire as a solution to this. You get all your pointiness you want and still get your fat contact patch.

Pointy is a funny word.

'02 RC-51
'10 Unicycle

post #3 of 9 Old 01-31-2006, 05:38 PM
2wheeltours

I know guys that do choose the 180 on a liter bike, but I preffered the 190 on my old 929 myself. It's personal preferrence I guess.

post #4 of 9 Old 03-10-2006, 02:56 PM
The "Eagle" Has Landed

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wheeltours
I know guys that do choose the 180 on a liter bike, but I preffered the 190 on my old 929 myself. It's personal preferrence I guess.