Is the radiator required??? - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 05-20-2008, 08:56 PM Thread Starter
Ben
 
HondaStreetfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Question Is the radiator required???

I am doing the CBR 900RR exhaust swap on my 919. Can I run it without the radiator all hooked up just to make sure it doesn't have any leaks coming from the head/headers? Right now there are exhaust leaks all over the place so I went and bought new gaskets today, and have the pipe to can gasket coming in the mail. I don't wanna have to keep taking the radiator off and on.


And for some reason there was a ticking sound coming from the left side of the motor. Did I break something? Maybe just valve noise from one of the incompletely sealed header pipes.

2 > 4
HondaStreetfigh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 05-20-2008, 09:09 PM
Shiraz
 
Simpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 2,684
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Outstanding Restoration Outstanding Restoration Donation 
Total Awards: 7

The ticking sound is generally a sign of an exhaust leak. It will sound similar like a bad valve.
Post some pictures!

Simpson is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 05-20-2008, 09:46 PM
I am BATMAN!!!
 
justintyme73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ft. Collins CO
Posts: 4,660
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Outstanding Restoration Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

Simpson is right, Exhaust leak sounds like that. Running it for a short time wont overheat it, you just run the risk of damaging the water pump more than anything.

"He was a wise man who invented Beer"--Plato
justintyme73 is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 Old 05-20-2008, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
Ben
 
HondaStreetfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Thanks for the input. So could I just disable the water pump somehow? Fuse, wire, or something else to unplug?

2 > 4
HondaStreetfigh is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 05-20-2008, 10:40 PM
Duckin' for cover..
 
SoCal919's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: L.A. California
Posts: 460
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Boy I would not run it very long at all. I would be afraid of hot spots in the heads. If you can disable the water pump, and maybe cap off the radiator hoses, or attach them to each other and leave the pump alone,and fill the system, maybe. Anyway, I personally would not want to run more than a few seconds without water in the jacket.

SoCal919 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 05-20-2008, 10:51 PM Thread Starter
Ben
 
HondaStreetfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

So then I will just fill it up with water, seeing that it needs to be flushed anyways. Then when I finish, I'll clean it with distilled water, then finally the ProHonda ethylene glycol coolant I bought today. It's just really a pain removing the radiator, and disconnecting the hoses.

2 > 4
HondaStreetfigh is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 05-21-2008, 05:14 AM
Tribuni Angusticlavii
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,704
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Donation 
Total Awards: 2

I was able to get to the bolts without completely removing the radiator. I took the mounting bolts out, unhooked it from the left side and kind of shifted it over a little. Its kind of a pain using diff extensions & socket joint thingies but doable.

if you do take the radiator off
you only need to run it for a matter of seconds (3-5) to hear a leak. the engine will not even get hot in that amount of time. I had to remove my cbr pipe recently to repair a cracked mount tab underneath, didn't quite have the headpipes seated fully on reinstall, heard the leak with just a 3 sec engine run, loostened em, retightened em, good to go.
don't sweat it.

gpzTurbo is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 05-21-2008, 12:45 PM Thread Starter
Ben
 
HondaStreetfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Ok, header is not leaking. Got it all put together minus the gasket for the header to pipe joint. Took it for a ride. I put some coolant in it, but it would only take just under a pint. Supposed to take 3.8 quarts. It's overheating so I'm letting the fan run. How do I get it to take the fluid into the system?

2 > 4
HondaStreetfigh is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 05-21-2008, 12:55 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 70
Rep Power: 0
 
The fill is under the tank, not under the seat. I didn't realize this until after some checking on the forum. I filled the reservoir, not the radiator...DOH!

I'm assuming you did the same thing?

cunningham919 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 05-21-2008, 01:02 PM
Sixty-9er
 
edgecrusher4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 663
Rep Power: 1
 
From the service manual:

Fill radiator through filler neck

Remove radiator reserve tank cap and fill to upper line.

Bleed air as follows:
1. Shift into neutral and start, let idle for 2-3mins
2. Snap throttle 3-4 times to bleed air from system
3. Stop engine and fill to upper level and reinstall radiator cap
4. Fill reserve and replace cap

Sounds like you leave the Rad cap off and the air escapes the Rad when cycled through. I'd preform this a few times till you don't have to add any coolant.

"Grip it and Rip it!"
edgecrusher4444 is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 05-21-2008, 02:04 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,339
Rep Power: 0
 

Awards Showcase
Donation BOTM 
Total Awards: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by HondaStreetfigh View Post
So then I will just fill it up with water, seeing that it needs to be flushed anyways. Then when I finish, I'll clean it with distilled water, then finally the ProHonda ethylene glycol coolant I bought today. It's just really a pain removing the radiator, and disconnecting the hoses.
Just think about the pains involved with major engine repairs - Better safe than sorry - PLus every time you take it on and off, you will get faster !

2ohno is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 05-21-2008, 05:11 PM Thread Starter
Ben
 
HondaStreetfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Thanks for all the advice. I have it all fixed up and everything minus the gasket to the Scorpion pipe. It is leaking exhaust all around it, but at least the header isn't leaking at the cylinder head anymore. It is not nearly as loud as the bafflectomized stockers, and it has a wayyy better tone now. It does feel like there is more back pressure though, comparitively to the virgin stock exhaust (without the bafflectomy). The power band seems to start somewhere above 6k instead of the 4700. Not as torquey, but when I ream it out in first the front tire gets light at around 7500-8k, and I have the 17t front and 43t rear. It used to come up earlier. When I do my wheelies it takes a little more, but when the RPM's are higher it feels like it has a little more power, so the gas is touchy, and almost wants to flip me over if I'm not careful. Gonna take some getting used to. Hopefully the trade off for torque gives a little more hp.

When I get the gasket in the mail later this week or next I'm hoping to feel a little more power out of it. Will it hurt to ride it? Felt fine on my test rides. Is it normal to smell a little bit of a burning from the new aftermarket pipes? My guess is that it's just the packing getting broken in. After time I know it should get a little louder. I looked inside the can and I saw a few fibers sticking out a little. I'm assuming that's normal though.

Got a few more things to do to her, and a LOT of cleaning. Then the pictures will come!

2 > 4
HondaStreetfigh is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 05-21-2008, 05:30 PM
Tribuni Angusticlavii
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,704
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Did you get a used 900rr exhaust then add a Scorpion can?

gpzTurbo is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 05-21-2008, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
Ben
 
HondaStreetfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,392
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzTurbo View Post
Did you get a used 900rr exhaust then add a Scorpion can?
Yeah, I got the headers from a 96 CBR 900RR on ebay for 60 plus 30 for shipping, then the brand new Scorpion can on ebay for 170 with shipping. I built a bracket to keep it from hitting the right rear set. No vibrations at all. Seems to be pretty solid. I was just kinda worried about bending the headers downward, and possibly damaging the engine case. I have been being my hooligan self and doing wheelies, endos, and stoppies. No trouble yet. I'm about to ride it 80 miles to my girlfriends parent's house. Held up on the trial runs, now time to see if I actually did a good job.

Oh yeah. A LOT LESS STINK!!! I smelled my clothes and was amazed!

2 > 4
HondaStreetfigh is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 05-21-2008, 06:05 PM
Tribuni Angusticlavii
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,704
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Donation 
Total Awards: 2

Between the awesome sound, lack of stink, and oldschool looks it was all win-win for me. After pic, post up a sound clip too. I'll try to get one of mine this wknd.

gpzTurbo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome