Stopping distance comparison with new rotors - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 8 Old 06-01-2010, 01:24 PM Thread Starter
(Quintus) Pilus Prior

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Stopping distance comparison with new rotors

So this toolbox I know on IRC is raving about his new carbon rotors, and posts this comparison that someone else did on a "similar" bike Brake Tech Axis / CMC Rotors w/ Sinter Tech Ferodo Brake Pads | Inline Performance Magazine as well as this one on different bikes (which makes the comparison invalid to me) YouTube - IPM Staff Bikes Daytona 675 Brake Tech Carbon Ceramic Rotor Test

The later I waved off as invalid, because they used 2 different bikes. I'm far from an expert on the subject, but I'm fairly certain when you change things like, weight placement you are going to alter the end result.

The 2nd, I'm waving off yet again, because I don't think the rider truly knows how to test his brakes. Impressive indo? Yeah, sure, I'd go for that. Best way to stop? PPFFFFFFT! Get real! Get your nuts off the tank and to the back of the seat so that the damn thing will stop as it normally would. There is a rare occasion (if any) where an endo is a proper stop in my novice opinion. If I am wrong here, someone please correct me before I make an even bigger ass out of myself (I'm already an ass, but I'm trying to keep things in check here)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 06-01-2010, 02:44 PM
Gets censored

IDK about the carbon rotors but I can tell you i was underimpressed with the braking on the 9er coming off of my cbr600 f3. when I put some SS lines on I feel it stops better but in reality its just a better feel im assuming.

Ive read reviews that say the stock rotor is the way to go after market ones warp easier due to heat, this is what i read not personal experience.

post #3 of 8 Old 06-01-2010, 03:01 PM Thread Starter
(Quintus) Pilus Prior

Awards Showcase
Donation