• 1 Post By Trailing_Throttle
  • 4 Post By LDH
  • 1 Post By mcromo44
  • 2 Post By Trailing_Throttle
  • 1 Post By LucilleBrawl

post #1 of 14 Old 05-28-2018, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
Discen

New Rider - Dad needs some advice!!!

My 17 year old daughter has expressed interest in getting a bike. While I would love nothing more than to spend days riding with her, the path from complete novice to competence terrifies me, thoughts which I've shared with her. We went and looked at bikes today to let her get a feel for what she's interested in. Discussion seemed to center around the Honda CB300F/R (or maybe 500?). She really REALLY liked the CBR300R but I'm dreading the first, inevitable, parking lot drop when she scuffs the bodywork.

We will be buying used so the final decision will be made on what's available and what fits in her price range. (She's paying for it.)

She's a complete novice, hasn't driven a stick shift, so she'll be starting at ground zero. I've told her that completing the MSF Basic riding class is a must do before we can even start to get serious about buying a bike.

Has anybody gone down this path willing to give me some sage advice? Any input for Dad?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 05-28-2018, 04:28 PM
Tesserarius

If she was my daughter, I'd buy a little used 4 stroke dirtbike. A 100, or 150. Find a field that she can play on it. She can learn throttle control. clutch, balance, etc. That is how I got my son started. He took to the 250 Ninja very well. He dropped it a couple of times. Oh well.....
badmoon692008 likes this.

post #3 of 14 Old 05-28-2018, 04:47 PM
919 Rider

I have a 16yr old daughter. Started her out years ago on a quad bike on beach and track. Moved her onto a crf125 a few years back, same beach/track stuff. When she's ready I'll probably get her a cb250 as her first road bike.