Need some advice on two stroke bikes - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 12 Old 04-15-2010, 08:16 PM Thread Starter
Livin the dream

Need some advice on two stroke bikes

I have three sons. They are 17, 14 and 10. The 14 and 10 year old have decided they want to race motocross. The 14 year old wants to make it a career. The 10 year old is in it for the fun.

Here's the deal... we currently own four stroke Honda CRF's. We had three and are down to two... an 80 and a 100. We are selling to buy two stroke bikes. Looks like we are looking for a Kawi KX 65 and either a Yamaha YZ 85 or Honda CR 85.

I know nothing about two stroke bikes. I am an engineer and do most all of the current maintenance on our bikes, which isn't much. They just don't need it. I see adds for the two strokes with rebuilt engines...pistons, rods, etc... and then with just new reed valves.

Are they difficult to work on? Do they need constant adjustment/work or whatever? How long do reed valves last? Easy to replace? At this point I'm not even sure what to ask... I don't know what I don't know.

Any ideas what I should look for when I go look at these bikes? Any problem areas that I can focus on?

Any and all advice is appreciated.

Doug

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 04-15-2010, 08:24 PM
Le So Cal Troll

get a CRF150R for the 14 year old... 22hp outta the box... 28hp easily made with mods in the size of a CR85 (it uses the CR85 frame) kx65 seems bout right for the 10 yr old.

if you wanna go all 2 smoke just make sure theres still parts availability for em all the two strokes u listed are pretty popular so i dont think you would have a problem. 2 strokes like you said are pretty simple... reed valves, and piston n rings every now n then is really all thats needed.

post #3 of 12 Old 04-15-2010, 08:46 PM
yzarc mi os