help with bike alarm - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 09-07-2011, 05:23 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: dublin ireland
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 1
 
Question help with bike alarm

hi a friend of mine has asked me to help put a "cheap alarm" on his bike (not really for security more deterrent because of the little feckers kids messing at the bike when he parks it at his mam's flats)
well as i dont know much about electrics i still said yes
it just has 3 wires red, black, blue
so the red = battery+ the black = battery- the blue = ??????
any help on where this goes
thanks in advance

hooter007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-07-2011, 09:29 AM
rmb
Let's go!
 
rmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sussex Couty NJ
Posts: 7,656
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

No instructions came with it?

rmb is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-07-2011, 09:51 AM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,432
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

The uninformed about the specific unit you are using answer is: Red to constant power, Black to ground, and Blue to switched power. This is assuming the manufacturer is following accepted conventions regarding power and ground wire colors. The Blue wire (again, going by the earlier assumption) is the deactivate signal when the key is turned on.

I would, however, recommend ferreting out installation instructions before acting on "uninformed about the unit you are using" opinions ... regardless of the source. Yeah, even me. After all, it won't be me paying for a new unit when it's smoked by hooking it up wrong!

Good luck.

Rob

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-07-2011, 09:55 AM
Tirone Choolaces
 
marylandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,177
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

Probably not the same model, but I found this link. It says the blue wire is an antenna for the remote

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/91aN3qgTCrS.pdf

Hope you get it figured out.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (62.7 KB, 7 views)

marylandmike is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-07-2011, 10:24 AM
Gran Tirono
 
Asraiil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stafford, Va
Posts: 630
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by marylandmike View Post
Probably not the same model, but I found this link. It says the blue wire is an antenna for the remote

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/91aN3qgTCrS.pdf

Hope you get it figured out.
I was also thinking blue might be the antenna. Definitely don't want to hook that to any type of power source if it is!

Asraiil is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-07-2011, 11:19 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: dublin ireland
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asraiil View Post
I was also thinking blue might be the antenna. Definitely don't want to hook that to any type of power source if it is!
thanks lads
it has an antenna aswell as the 3 coloured wires and comes with a remote lock/unlock unit
i have tried to contact the supplier about instructions as the page (instruction) he got with the alarm does not make any sense at all
its just the words are all jumbled up
but now i've only found out he paid like 10 for it inc delivery from china or similar place

i have tried it with just the 2 (black,red) wires on a battery and it works
so which only leaves me thinking maybe it's the ground/earth wire, since it comes with remote and does not have immobilizer ect..
so if it turns out to be the ground/earth wire
where would the best place to put it

hooter007 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome