help! 9er still won't start... - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 239
Rep Power: 1
 
help! 9er still won't start...

left my key on, ran my battery down to nothing; tried bump starting it in 2nd gear, jumping it off from my wife's bike, finally put it on a trickle charger, which shows the battery to be 100% recharged until I disconnect the charger, then shows 75% until I leave the charger on for about five minutes, then shows 100% again. The problem is that when I turn the key on, absolutely nothing, no headlight, fuel pump whine, and definitely no start... I've checked the fuses, battery connections, etc, everything appears to be fine. Is it possible that I boogered something up trying to jump start the bike? never had any problems at all before this weekend.

dogjaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 06:45 PM
Brain stolen again?
 
Bigdaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Goleta, California
Posts: 17,369
Rep Power: 1
 
Your battery has met Mr. D.

的 said I never had much use for one.
Never said I didn't know how to use it."
Mathew Quigley
Bigdaa is offline  
post #3 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 07:04 PM
Gets censored
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 1,839
Rep Power: 1
 
you have zero power at all but your battery says you have juice, Id bet you have a bad connection.

Id personally track my connections from the battery back.

brian is offline  
 
post #4 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 07:06 PM
Pilus Posterior
 
AllanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,101
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 
Clean and tighten battery terminals.

Start.

Ride hard.

Stop.

Repeat steps 2-4.

AllanB is offline  
post #5 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 07:11 PM
GLG-20
 
Superdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,365
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
Hasn't there also been a problem with kill switches failing?

'96 DR650, '01 SV650, '10 Aprilia Tuono 1000R
Superdog is offline  
post #6 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 07:14 PM
Gets censored
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 1,839
Rep Power: 1
 
Yes but that wouldn't kill all power, use a test light you'll find the issue pretty quick

brian is offline  
post #7 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 07:24 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 239
Rep Power: 1
 
no sign of corrosion on the terminals, plenty tight... what is this test light business? and someone on another forum suggested that there might be an inline fuse... I've never seen one...

dogjaw is offline  
post #8 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 07:27 PM
Pilus Posterior
 
AllanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,101
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 
Many fuses. I am positive there is not one big mother that will take out everything though.


Got the battery terminals around the right way?

AllanB is offline  
post #9 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 07:29 PM
Burn-em Upus Asphaltus
 
rickard919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,802
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Kill switch is in the on position?

Spoiler:

rickard919 is offline  
post #10 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 07:34 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 239
Rep Power: 1
 
yep and yep... this one has me floored.

dogjaw is offline  
post #11 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 07:40 PM
Burn-em Upus Asphaltus
 
rickard919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,802
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

You have a different battery you can try?

Spoiler:

rickard919 is offline  
post #12 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 239
Rep Power: 1
 
unfortunately not, is it possible to be showing a charge, but not having enough juice to even power the headlight?

dogjaw is offline  
post #13 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 08:17 PM
Brain stolen again?
 
Bigdaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Goleta, California
Posts: 17,369
Rep Power: 1
 
Mrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

的 said I never had much use for one.
Never said I didn't know how to use it."
Mathew Quigley
Bigdaa is offline  
post #14 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 08:38 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 239
Rep Power: 1
 
now I'm truly flumoxed; jumped from my wife's Ninja directly to the battery cables on the 9, still nothing... rules out the battery, but now what?

dogjaw is offline  
post #15 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 08:50 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,772
Rep Power: 1
 
did the lights even come on when you applied jumper cables?

Pvster is offline  
post #16 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 09:03 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 239
Rep Power: 1
 
absolutely freaking nothing

dogjaw is offline  
post #17 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 09:16 PM
Burn-em Upus Asphaltus
 
rickard919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,802
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Won't the battery from the ninja fit in the 9er? At least you can rule out the battery that way.

Spoiler:

rickard919 is offline  
post #18 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 09:32 PM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,622
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by dogjaw View Post
now I'm truly flumoxed; jumped from my wife's Ninja directly to the battery cables on the 9, still nothing... rules out the battery, but now what?
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickard919 View Post
Won't the battery from the ninja fit in the 9er? At least you can rule out the battery that way.
I think he already tried that. I blew a fuse once. But it was when I was installing new blinkers. I'd check your fuses. There should be a couple of spares under the seat next to the other fuses.

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2001 XR650R BRP (Big Red Pig)
2006 Honda 599 - Ex wrecked it :-D
2007 Honda CB900F (sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #19 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 09:57 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 239
Rep Power: 1
 
i've checked every fuse, including the main 30 amp between the battery and the fusebox... there has to be something simple I'm missing, unless i fried something major when attempting to jump her off.

dogjaw is offline  
post #20 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 10:05 PM
Pilus Posterior
 
AllanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,101
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 
If you totally buggered up the jump you may have fried something - but what would give a total electrical failure?

Were both bikes turned off when you connected the batteries for jumping?

AllanB is offline  
post #21 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 10:50 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,772
Rep Power: 1
 
that's what the fuse is for. no way the fuse could of not blown and something got fried in the process...

Pvster is offline  
post #22 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 11:00 PM
Allons-y!
 
mrhonda1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarion, IA
Posts: 864
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
Some poking around is definitely needed. My friend had a 636 Ninja that mice had eaten through the wiring. Hope that's not the case, but you never know.

"Reason is not automatic. Those who deny it cannot be conquered by it" ~ Ayn Rand
mrhonda1987 is offline  
post #23 of 35 Old 10-26-2010, 11:19 PM
Gets censored
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 1,839
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogjaw View Post
no sign of corrosion on the terminals, plenty tight... what is this test light business? and someone on another forum suggested that there might be an inline fuse... I've never seen one...
If you have a test light (everyone should theyre 5 bucks and very useful) Clip the ground to something then jam the probe into the positive battery cable just after the terminal if it lights up you've got juice there. Follow the cable to where it ends, check it there. If it lights up continue, also I know people have said this but your batt teminals really need to be cranked down good you may have done this but Id accualy remove them inspect the connectors clean and reinstall reeeeaaaalllllly tight.

You have no juice to nothing, start at the source (batt) and follow it to find where you are loosing it. You can also use a voltometer for this if you have one of those.

brian is offline  
post #24 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 09:43 AM
Machine Head
 
ideajones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,168
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

I'm sidin with Bigdaa on this one.

-Mark-
There's gold in them hills
ideajones is offline  
post #25 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 09:53 AM
Brain stolen again?
 
Bigdaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Goleta, California
Posts: 17,369
Rep Power: 1
 
Mrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

的 said I never had much use for one.
Never said I didn't know how to use it."
Mathew Quigley
Bigdaa is offline  
post #26 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 09:56 AM
Gets censored
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 1,839
Rep Power: 1
 
lol, he tried to jump it with no luck so I dont think so but maybe. Would a shot ass battery stop it from powering anything on with a good jump attached?

brian is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 03:37 PM Thread Starter
Discen
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 239
Rep Power: 1
 
I finally found it... the 30 amp fuse between the battery and the fusebox. I feel like a total jackass, I checked it last night, or so I thought, about midnight while frustrated, realized today that I had checked the spare 30 amp fuse, not the one in use that was..... blown. replaced it, started right up. I may be a n idiot, but now at least I'm now a mobile idiot.

dogjaw is offline  
post #28 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 04:08 PM
Machine Head
 
ideajones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,168
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Nice that's way cheaper.

-Mark-
There's gold in them hills
ideajones is offline  
post #29 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 04:16 PM
Allons-y!
 
mrhonda1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarion, IA
Posts: 864
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
Well, at least if it does it again, that'll be the first thing you look for.

"Reason is not automatic. Those who deny it cannot be conquered by it" ~ Ayn Rand
mrhonda1987 is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 04:30 PM
Gets censored
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 1,839
Rep Power: 1
 
Its a constant learning process, glad you're back on.

brian is offline  
post #31 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 05:03 PM
rmb
Let's go!
 
rmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sussex Couty NJ
Posts: 7,656
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 9

Chalk that one up to chit happens at midnight.

rmb is offline  
post #32 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 06:17 PM
Brain stolen again?
 
Bigdaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Goleta, California
Posts: 17,369
Rep Power: 1
 
Mr D was there........................in the fuze

的 said I never had much use for one.
Never said I didn't know how to use it."
Mathew Quigley
Bigdaa is offline  
post #33 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 07:07 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,772
Rep Power: 1
 
woot, knew it had to be something simple. ALWAYS is. dont feel bad. i KNOW we have all done something similar atleast once in our life...

well, for big daa it's atleast 10 times. lol.

Pvster is offline  
post #34 of 35 Old 10-27-2010, 09:23 PM
Pilus Posterior
 
AllanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,101
Blog Entries: 1
Rep Power: 1
 
Classic - at least it had a happy ending. I could not think of anything else that would totally kill the electrics like that!

Make sure you replace that spare fuse too.

AllanB is offline  
post #35 of 35 Old 10-28-2010, 06:22 AM
Brain stolen again?
 
Bigdaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Goleta, California
Posts: 17,369
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanB View Post
Classic - at least it had a happy ending. I could not think of anything else that would totally kill the electrics like that!

Make sure you replace that spare fuse too.


Better Gol darn advice than mine

的 said I never had much use for one.
Never said I didn't know how to use it."
Mathew Quigley
Bigdaa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome