Everyday riding position? - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 23 Old 07-01-2011, 06:26 AM Thread Starter
Lord 'a mercy...

Everyday riding position?

So, I've been riding for four years now, but not enough that I don't still feel like a beginner in my level of skill. No track days under my belt, and I definitely haven't been out enough this season yet. Mostly commute riding and I have a couple longer rides planned (a Milwaukee to Minneapolis ride, then off to the Badlands).

Here's the thing--I don't feel quite right/comfortable on the bike, and I don't know what would make it better. I am a hair over 6'2" about 185-190 lbs.

I was feeling like I can't scoot back far enough on the seat--like if I sit up, my arms are too straight and rigid, but if I lean forward, there's too much weight on the bars. I feel like I want to lean forward and scoot my butt back(so that the seat takes more of my weight off the bars) but I can't go back far enough, is my torso just too long to ride a motorcycle? I just got that sweet corbin seat from beefsalad, but it seems to feel roughly the same.

I guess my real question is what kind of adjustments would you all suggest? Bar risers, LOWER bars, rearsets?
ANy other tall dudes got some tips?
Like the look of the Thar bars--would that help?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 07-01-2011, 06:44 AM
MSF blacksheep

Renthal ultra low bars will help and ride with the balls of your feet on the pegs. It will help you carry more weight with your legs and make you feel more humble on the bike.

post #3 of 23 Old 07-01-2011, 07:07 AM Thread Starter
Lord 'a mercy...

Thanks Bueller.

After posting this I wanted to acknowledge that I know there are a lot of posts on accessories, but specific tips/suggestions for tall guys (like above) is what I'm after.

post #4 of 23 Old 07-01-2011, 07:23 AM
STR-III

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2