Labor Day Ride. - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 5 Old 09-06-2011, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
What's a 919?

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Veteran 
Total Awards: 2

Labor Day Ride.

While home in IL, my Dad and I went for our first real ride together. The roads were nothing special, but the company was. For those not aware, my father had a massive heart attack back in February and after nearly losing him, he and I have a new appreciation for our relationship.

I've been trying to get him into motorcycling ever since I started riding years ago and I think finally with his close call, he came around to the wild side and bought himself a brand new Can-Am Spyder just 2 months later. Fast forward a little and a few weeks ago, he had another milder heart attack after the installed stent ended up becoming completely blocked.

I made my way home this Labor Day weekend, not only to see him but to finally share a ride with him. You see my father and I have never had anything completely in common. He's always been supportive of my hobbies and interests growing up, but there's never been something that we really shared, until now.

Leaving the small town of Orion, IL near the Quad Cities, we headed north on IL84 on the Nationally Historic 'Great River Road.' I'm not too sure what was so great about it, as it was nothing but miles and miles of straight tarmac with an occasional view of the Mississippi that it followed. Regardless it was a beautiful early Sept day with a 75 deg. sun shining through a few spots of clouds. We headed north to Galena, IL a small 'touristy' old town with many shops lining the Main street. There were an awful lot of people there this Holiday weekend, but the town retained it's old school charm with plenty of the store on bottom, keeper living on top type shops. We made our way through the town, walking into a store that looked interesting. It was a lazy day and we were just enjoying being out and about.