lessons from msf course - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 5 Old 02-18-2009, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

lessons from msf course

I haven't posted here all that much, though I lurk through all the naked threads and have gotten a lot of good info and met some fine friends. My recent posts have been about going fast, but I've wanted to write this safety post for awhile now.

Before I started riding, I took a local msf course. It taught me a huge amount, but with no riding experience, it was difficult to tell what was important. Now, after 30k commuter miles in 3 years (la freeways and canyons) and a few costly mistakes, a few of the messages really stick out as critical now (though I didn’t know they would be at the time).

First, ABOVE 18MPH, ITS BETTER TO SWERVE THAN TO BRAKE. It's just that simple. When you’re riding, and something happens in front of you, your instinct may be to grab the brakes. But above 18mph (according to msf statistical analysis) you stand a better chance of surviving by trying to go around the obstacle than by trying to stop before you reach it. (Putting this strategy into practice also requires that you always have an out, or somewhere to swerve to. Which is another critical point. But continually keeping track of your outs won’t help if you just grab the brake when something happens). Once you start thinking this one through, it makes perfect sense… but I’ve never heard the point spelled out explicitly anywhere except for the msf course. Turning it into instinct has allowed me to save my own life. (I think this exact scenario has cost some board members some skin and motorcycle parts recently…)