Helmet recommendations with integrated sunshield - Wrist Twisters
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By fairlylogical
  • 1 Post By Coondawg07

Old 06-04-2015, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
Princeps Prior

Helmet recommendations with integrated sunshield

Any recommendations for a helmet with an integrated sun shield?

I've had an HJC IS-16 (or 17) for years and have liked it. But it is starting to show it's age. Chin vent hinge is broke...not a big deal. but the fabric glue on some of the parts is letting go. Makes me wonder about the integrity of the helmet.

Anyway, it lasted long enough.

My 2 thoughts at the moment are another IS-16 or the SHOEI GT AIR.

Anyone have experience with these helmets? Any suggestions?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2015, 07:33 PM
notsowisecracker

I've been using a Scorpion EX-1000 for several years and like it. Good anti fog on the shield, and relatively quite.
I think the newest version is the EXO-2000.

I tried on the GT Air, and when I win the lottery it will be mine!

For the price, if you've been happy with the IS-16, that may be the way to go.

Old 06-04-2015, 07:54 PM
Riding Naked All The Time

I have GT air. I like it mostly. It does not flow as much air as the RF1100, probably because of the drop down visor, but I do like that feature so much I will likely not buy any helmet without it.

2004 919 Uranium

Old 06-04-2015, 09:41 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior

Awards Showcase
Extraordinary Ride 
Total Awards: 1

It might be worth looking into a Bell helmet with the transition shield too... Then you get the best of both worlds without messing with a sun shield or worrying about being caught out at night with a Tinted shield. I don't have one and have never even seen one in person, but I wish i could get that kind of shield for my helmet

Love is the feeling you get when you like something as much as your motorcycle - Hunter S. Thompson
I just mı̸̸̸̸̸̸̸̸̸̸̸̸̸̸̸̸̨ade you wipe your screen.
-2009 Suzuki GSX-R 750 Race Bike
-2007 Honda 919