Video editing - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 Old 07-29-2011, 09:02 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Video editing

I got myself a GoPro a few weeks back and I want to edit
my videos so I can post them up.

I suck with computers, or my computer sucks...

When I download my videos, they go directly into RealPlayer,
which was already on my computer. RealPlayer lets me trim
videos but I can't take 2 videos and combine them to make one.

Just wondering what's a good program I can download to
edit videos that is not too hard to use and won't take up
all the memory of my shitty computer

Thanks

Mr T81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 07-29-2011, 09:09 PM
(-(-(-(-(- -)-)-)-)-)
 
andrewebay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,883
Rep Power: 1
 
You can try Sony Vegas for 30 days on a free-trial. Sony Creative Software - Download: Vegas Pro

After 30 days it'll just ask for activation code (which you can pay or erase it from your computer). Takes a bit to get use to the basic stuff, but it'll process your HD video. Make sure to save your file in H.264 format (.mp4), it'll give you one of the best quality to file size ratios.

And you might want to check GoPro website if it has a forum. Probably a ton of info on what software works best with a good chunk of tips/tricks.

andrewebay1 is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 07-30-2011, 04:03 AM
Serial Monogamist
 
ST-DocLizard1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hampton, NJ
Posts: 1,491
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 21

Time to do some research. This may help:

GoPro HD Hero Camera - ADVrider

I picked one up used and have not had enough time to even try it out.

Good luck,


Doc



"FRIENDS DON'T LET FRIENDS EARLY APEX."
ST-DocLizard1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 30 Old 07-30-2011, 04:11 AM
Tirone Choolaces
 
marylandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,114
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

Windows Live Movie Maker 2011

I use this one. It's free and does all the basic editing, you can add music, combine videos, add a few special effects and transitions.

marylandmike is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 07-30-2011, 07:03 AM
The chill Moderator
 
07919Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: COS:CO
Posts: 3,304
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Nice Thread! I was wondering about this my self. I am going to be picking up a GoPro within the next month. First time I will do anything with video. Any one use iMovie on Mac OS X?

Never Trade the Thrills of Living for the Security of Existence.
07919Dave is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 07-30-2011, 09:21 AM
a.k.a. Macgruber
 
omaha_919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,194
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by 07919Dave View Post
Nice Thread! I was wondering about this my self. I am going to be picking up a GoPro within the next month. First time I will do anything with video. Any one use iMovie on Mac OS X?
I have

It's been a few months, but I have a GoPro HD & I'll be using iMovie & iDVD once I bring home footage from Colorado

I'll have to take a look at it & refresh my memory, but I could help you out.

Abba Zaba, you my only friend.
omaha_919 is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 07-30-2011, 09:27 AM
The chill Moderator
 
07919Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: COS:CO
Posts: 3,304
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Sweet! Do you have a MacBook?

Never Trade the Thrills of Living for the Security of Existence.
07919Dave is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 07-30-2011, 09:32 AM
a.k.a. Macgruber
 
omaha_919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,194
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

unfortunately, no.
I've got a mini, but I'll be bringing our HP laptop with us for dump-storage.
If you've got iMovie, I could maybe give you a demonstration when we come out there.

Abba Zaba, you my only friend.
omaha_919 is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 07-30-2011, 09:35 AM
The chill Moderator
 
07919Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: COS:CO
Posts: 3,304
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

Sounds great to me.

Do you just use the Mac for video or do you use that HP as well? If so what software do you run on that? I have a MacBook and then an HP desktop.

Never Trade the Thrills of Living for the Security of Existence.
07919Dave is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 07-30-2011, 09:42 AM
Old, Bold rider
 
robtharalson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 2,319
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Donation Veteran Community Leadership 
Total Awards: 3

Windows Movie Maker is loaded on every PC I've had for the last 10 years or so, and is very good for loading clips, editing for the length of individual clips, inserting clips from other videos, adding a sound track including voice over or music, captioning either between clips or directly on the images, titling and credits, transitional effects, and publishing in a variety of formats. In other words, pretty much everything you need to take raw footage and make it presentable. I have made several stop motion movies from individual images generated in CAD and the results are as good (or bad) as I want. Overall, a good way to make a movie.

Biggest advantage? It's already in most PC's and ready to go, and is quite easy to use.

Just look for Windows movie maker in the All Programs menu.

Rob

If it has already been done, it is safe to assume it is possible to do it.
On the other hand, if it has not been done never assume it is impossible to do it.
------- Rob --------
robtharalson is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 07-30-2011, 10:46 AM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Thanks guys, someone told me about Windows Movie Maker but
I wasn't sure if it was any good...
My laptop has Vista, should it be in my computer already?

Mr T81 is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 07-30-2011, 10:58 AM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Nevermind, I found it. Let's see if I can make this work...

Thanks

Mr T81 is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 07-31-2011, 10:55 AM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
I'm still having issues! I found Movie Maker but can't
play my videos with it.
I tryied to move my videos files from RealPlayer to
Movie Maker but eventually my screen went black and
a little screen appeared telling me I needed a CODEC
to play my videos on Movie Maker.
It also said that I have to be carefull which CODEC
to download.
Anybody knows which CODEC I need?
I have Vista and I believe my video files are .mp4

Thanks

Mr T81 is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 07-31-2011, 01:26 PM
(-(-(-(-(- -)-)-)-)-)
 
andrewebay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,883
Rep Power: 1
 
An excellent free tool to have when it comes to video editing is Any Video Converter. This software allows you to convert any video file into any format, including H.264. It also allows you to play with the aspect ratios and modify bit-rates if you need to bring the file size down a bit with minimal video degrading.

If you're having codec issues, you can just pop your video into this software and pretty much change it to work with any player. Including cell phones, Blu-Ray (if you have a burner), etc.

andrewebay1 is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 07-31-2011, 09:21 PM
Discen
 
dogjaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 239
Rep Power: 1
 
Corel isn't free, but it's cheap and fairly simple...


‪AR 374 to 123‬‏ - YouTube

03 919
06 DR650, GSXR exhaust mods, etc, etc.


adventure is where you find it...
dogjaw is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 08-01-2011, 11:15 AM
a.k.a. Macgruber
 
omaha_919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,194
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by 07919Dave View Post
Sounds great to me.

Do you just use the Mac for video or do you use that HP as well? If so what software do you run on that? I have a MacBook and then an HP desktop.
sorry 'bout the delay, I logged off before you posted

yes I only use the Mac Mini for doing the work... iMovie & iDVD.
I use the HP as a dump station while we're on trips, just to free up space on the camera.
I transfer all contents to the Mac when I get home & then work on production.

Abba Zaba, you my only friend.
omaha_919 is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 08-11-2011, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
I figured it out, all I had to do was BUY A NEW FU**ING COMPUTER
Got myself a Mac, here's a test, don't fall asleep http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZQq1GEbUl0

Mr T81 is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 08-11-2011, 05:54 PM
Tirone Choolaces
 
marylandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,114
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr T81 View Post
I figured it out, all I had to do was BUY A NEW FU**ING COMPUTER
Got myself a Mac, here's a test, don't fall asleep http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZQq1GEbUl0
Video is private, need to make it public.

marylandmike is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 08-11-2011, 05:57 PM
The chill Moderator
 
07919Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: COS:CO
Posts: 3,304
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

I'll has to check the bid later. But nice job on the Mac. Why did you choose to go that way.

Never Trade the Thrills of Living for the Security of Existence.
07919Dave is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 08-11-2011, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07919Dave View Post
I'll has to check the bid later. But nice job on the Mac. Why did you choose to go that way.
My 90 year old grand-father has a Mac for his expensive digital
camera and it's synced to his Iphone and all his other electronic
devices.

He keeps telling me it's the best computer, very easy to operate.

I mean if my 90 year old grand-father can operate a Mac I should
be able to as well...

Mr T81 is offline  
post #21 of 30 Old 08-11-2011, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by marylandmike View Post
Video is private, need to make it public.
Ok, try it now

Mr T81 is offline  
post #22 of 30 Old 08-11-2011, 06:21 PM
Tirone Choolaces
 
marylandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,114
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 3

That vid was only boring, until the end.....damn thats gonna leave a mark! Video quality looked great.

marylandmike is offline  
post #23 of 30 Old 08-11-2011, 06:24 PM
The chill Moderator
 
07919Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: COS:CO
Posts: 3,304
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

A lot of hail! But good clear audio and video.
Expensive computer to keep up with grandpa.

Never Trade the Thrills of Living for the Security of Existence.
07919Dave is offline  
post #24 of 30 Old 08-11-2011, 07:06 PM
Burn-em Upus Asphaltus
 
rickard919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,802
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

That must have been the storm last Friday. It hit Calgary as well. RIP> Man dies after being swept away by Calgary flash flood

Spoiler:

rickard919 is offline  
post #25 of 30 Old 08-11-2011, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickard919 View Post
That must have been the storm last Friday. It hit Calgary as well. RIP> Man dies after being swept away by Calgary flash flood
The hail was on my way to Regina 2 weeks ago, at one point I was
driving 20 km/h, just couldn't see anything.

Mr T81 is offline  
post #26 of 30 Old 08-19-2011, 05:24 PM
Tirone
 
mister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brisvegas
Posts: 71
Rep Power: 1
 
I currently use Cyberlink Power Director for editing. Will read the GoPro HD format raw without needing to convert it to anything.

Michael

mister is offline  
post #27 of 30 Old 08-24-2011, 12:19 AM
Carp Killer
 
Wallybanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 284
Rep Power: 1
 
1) you can not edit videos, especially HD videos, with a crappy computer. It will be an exercise in frustration. Trust me, it's not worth the stress.

2) I have used all of the major video editors and they all suck with AVCHD (The format the gopro uses). The best one is Adobe Premier Pro CS5. It has integrated AVCHD support and works awesome. The only down side is that it's tricky to use (you have to watch the tutorial videos) and it is spendy.

Keep The Rubber Side Down
Wallybanger is offline  
post #28 of 30 Old 08-27-2011, 02:49 AM
Tirone
 
mister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brisvegas
Posts: 71
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallybanger View Post
I have used all of the major video editors and they all suck with AVCHD (The format the gopro uses).
Maybe I'm being pedantic, but my GoPro file extensions are MP4 right out of the camera.

AVCHD - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (mentions editors capable of reading AVCHD - at the end of the page)

Michael

mister is offline  
post #29 of 30 Old 08-27-2011, 06:16 AM
The chill Moderator
 
07919Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: COS:CO
Posts: 3,304
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Veteran 
Total Awards: 1

So what is it AVCHD or MP4? Looks like iMovie will edit it and so will Final Cut Pro. I have one for free and could spend the money to get Final cut if I need more editing tools.

Never Trade the Thrills of Living for the Security of Existence.
07919Dave is offline  
post #30 of 30 Old 08-27-2011, 01:39 PM
Tirone
 
mister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brisvegas
Posts: 71
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07919Dave View Post
So what is it AVCHD or MP4? Looks like iMovie will edit it and so will Final Cut Pro. I have one for free and could spend the money to get Final cut if I need more editing tools.
iMovie will do you fine.

Michael

mister is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome