Linksys Router? - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 Old 04-29-2013, 06:33 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Linksys Router?

Hello WT...

I have a wireless router is my house and I think it's no longer
working properly. This started a few months back, when I click
on my internet browser icon it does not always work. 75% of the
time the internet will start, other times I have to wait half
an hour and try again. It's getting worst lately. I moved my
computer and plugged it straight into the wall and now it
works every time.
My router is a linksys about 6 or 7 years old, maybe more.

How long does a router usually last?

If I have to buy a new one, what is a good brand?

Thanks

Mr T81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 04-29-2013, 06:51 PM
just send it.
 
crakerjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,600
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
I'm interested too... I go through routers faster than I go through underwear.



[This space for rent]
crakerjac is offline  
post #3 of 35 Old 04-29-2013, 06:56 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
Its possible... they typically will go bad due to heat... its definitely not uncommon.

I wouldnt honestly go with linksys again, gone are the days where they built good stuff (like my good ole WRT54GL that has been going non stop for YEARS). I did open it up and throw a decent sized aluminum heatsink on the main chip... this will definitely help it out in the long run.

Buffalo or Asus as far as brands, and dont get caught up in fancy 100 dollar routers, you will not notice the difference.

nd4spdbh is offline  
 
post #4 of 35 Old 04-29-2013, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
How much should I expect to pay for a router?

Mr T81 is offline  
post #5 of 35 Old 04-29-2013, 07:07 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr T81 View Post
How much should I expect to pay for a router?
id say 60 tops.... you can get a buffalo gigabit router with 802.11n wifi for 55.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #6 of 35 Old 04-29-2013, 08:18 PM
(-(-(-(-(- -)-)-)-)-)
 
andrewebay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,883
Rep Power: 1
 
If you got 4 years out of a sub $100 router, I say it's served its purpose. If you want extended range, you can spend more on a twin antenna router. Just be sure to get a B/G/N compatible, N being the latest. At $60 I believe they're all N now.

Did you try pushing the reset button on your current router? All your settings will be wiped out but if it's not working...

My classified(s):
Nothing at the moment

----------------
------------
---------
------
---
- '96 Race-retired GSXR 750 (Sold)
- '01 RC51 SP1 (Sold)
- '03 919

"Security is mostly a superstition, it does not exist in nature: avoiding danger in the long run is no safer than outright being exposed. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."-Helen Keller
andrewebay1 is offline  
post #7 of 35 Old 04-29-2013, 08:18 PM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,611
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Check out newegg, go by the reviews. Find the five star routers, then do due diligence.

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2006 Honda 599 - Wanda
2007 Honda CB900F (click for pics -sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #8 of 35 Old 04-30-2013, 06:42 AM
just send it.
 
crakerjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,600
Rep Power: 1
 
Garage
Is there something to look for specifically in noisy environments? It seems like my router is constantly channel hopping. It seems like every router I've owned will only change channels so many times before going out to lunch. A power cycle usually fixes this... but after a while, the router is usually toast.



[This space for rent]
crakerjac is offline  
post #9 of 35 Old 04-30-2013, 08:38 AM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
What I like to do is survey the area with a program like inssider to see what's in use then manually set a channel that's furthest away from everything and or on a channel that has the lowest other signals.

FYI newegg has a nice dlink router for 55 shipped use promo code EMCXSTX72

D-Link Xtreme Gigabit Router (DIR-655) Wireless N300, USB SharePort, Gigabit - Newegg.com

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #10 of 35 Old 04-30-2013, 08:47 AM
Sixty-9er
 
edgecrusher4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 663
Rep Power: 1
 
I was in the same place two years ago. 7 year old linksys. Replaced with this Netgear, never been better.

Netgear, Inc WNR2000

"Grip it and Rip it!"
edgecrusher4444 is offline  
post #11 of 35 Old 04-30-2013, 10:19 AM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
meh i have seen many of those netgear routers come back fried... also lack of external antennas reduces wifi range quite a bit.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #12 of 35 Old 04-30-2013, 11:05 AM
Tribunus Laticlavius
 
voodooridr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 4,579
Rep Power: 1
 
My D-Link has been chugging along for about 10 years now


Dan
voodooridr is offline  
post #13 of 35 Old 04-30-2013, 11:53 AM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,611
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

If you have a noisy environment, consider upgrading to 5ghz instead of 2.4.

We have a baby monitor, and man, when that thing is on, our wireless sucks no matter which channel it's on, it has a wide band or something.

I used Powerline adapters to fix the PC in the kitchen and the bedroom, and got better bandwidth than I ever saw with wireless.

For phones and laptops/tablets, though, they have to be 5ghz compatible, which they may not be.

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2006 Honda 599 - Wanda
2007 Honda CB900F (click for pics -sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #14 of 35 Old 05-01-2013, 07:11 PM
Immune
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: East TN
Posts: 374
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by g00gl3it View Post
If you have a noisy environment, consider upgrading to 5ghz instead of 2.4.
+1

Thinking about going to this one:

D-Link Xtreme N Dual-Band Gigabit Router (DIR-825) Wireless N600 - Newegg.com

BKRMON is offline  
post #15 of 35 Old 05-01-2013, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewebay1 View Post
If you got 4 years out of a sub $100 router, I say it's served its purpose. If you want extended range, you can spend more on a twin antenna router. Just be sure to get a B/G/N compatible, N being the latest. At $60 I believe they're all N now.

Did you try pushing the reset button on your current router? All your settings will be wiped out but if it's not working...
I pushed the reset button and it's been good since.
Don't know what the f**k.

Mr T81 is offline  
post #16 of 35 Old 05-01-2013, 08:47 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,743
Rep Power: 1
 
Did you re-secure your router after you hit the reset button?

Pvster is online now  
post #17 of 35 Old 05-01-2013, 09:35 PM
(-(-(-(-(- -)-)-)-)-)
 
andrewebay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,883
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr T81 View Post

I pushed the reset button and it's been good since.
Don't know what the f**k.
Just saved 60 bucks! Yea sometimes they lock up.

My classified(s):
Nothing at the moment

----------------
------------
---------
------
---
- '96 Race-retired GSXR 750 (Sold)
- '01 RC51 SP1 (Sold)
- '03 919

"Security is mostly a superstition, it does not exist in nature: avoiding danger in the long run is no safer than outright being exposed. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."-Helen Keller
andrewebay1 is offline  
post #18 of 35 Old 05-02-2013, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pvster View Post
Did you re-secure your router after you hit the reset button?
Did not touch anything else then the reset button.
Padlock icon is still showing when I check my network connection.
Still working...

Mr T81 is offline  
post #19 of 35 Old 05-02-2013, 08:01 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,743
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr T81 View Post
Did not touch anything else then the reset button.
Padlock icon is still showing when I check my network connection.
Still working...
Might want to double check your security settings just to be sure. Typically, hitting the reset button on the router will default it to factory settings and you'll need to re-lock your wifi with a password and what not so other people don't piggyback on your bandwidth.

Pvster is online now  
post #20 of 35 Old 05-03-2013, 12:43 AM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,611
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Actually, usually just tapping the reset button does nothing more than reboot the router. You have to hold it in for ten to fifteen seconds before it actually resets.

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2006 Honda 599 - Wanda
2007 Honda CB900F (click for pics -sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #21 of 35 Old 05-04-2013, 10:14 AM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by g00gl3it View Post
Actually, usually just tapping the reset button does nothing more than reboot the router. You have to hold it in for ten to fifteen seconds before it actually resets.
I just pushed the button, I did not hold it in.
Still working...

Mr T81 is offline  
post #22 of 35 Old 05-04-2013, 11:06 AM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
yeah a reboot here and there will solve lots of issues with most computer related stuff.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #23 of 35 Old 05-05-2013, 01:18 PM
The Cripple
 
Pvster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,743
Rep Power: 1
 
Good to know.

Pvster is online now  
post #24 of 35 Old 05-05-2013, 02:13 PM
Le So Cal Troll
 
nd4spdbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,766
Rep Power: 1
 
working in IT it usually work out as follows.

80% of the time its either not plugged in or rebooting it fixes it
10% of the time i google and find the answer
5% of the time i know the actual solution
5% of the time, IT VOODOO!

or some very similar break down.

Literally this morning my gf calls me up and says that shes not able to get to websites... i tell her go over to your router and modem, unplug it. wait 20 secs plug it back in... walla works now.

nd4spdbh is offline  
post #25 of 35 Old 02-11-2014, 04:32 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
My old router started acting up again lately. Went out and got a new one this afternoon. I bought a D-Link, it's like night and day. If I would of known it was gonna make that much of a difference I would of bought a new one sooner

Mr T81 is offline  
post #26 of 35 Old 02-11-2014, 05:23 PM
Tribunus Laticlavius
 
voodooridr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 4,579
Rep Power: 1
 
My D-Link finally died last October, I replaced it with a Buffalo AirStation dual band, so far it's been fantastic.


Dan
voodooridr is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 02-11-2014, 05:27 PM Thread Starter
919 aka Hornet 900
 
Mr T81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 998
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by voodooridr View Post
My D-Link finally died last October, I replaced it with a Buffalo AirStation dual band, so far it's been fantastic.
How long did your D-Link last you?

Mr T81 is offline  
post #28 of 35 Old 02-11-2014, 05:54 PM
Tribunus Laticlavius
 
voodooridr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 4,579
Rep Power: 1
 
It chugged along for at least 10 years


Dan
voodooridr is offline  
post #29 of 35 Old 02-11-2014, 08:42 PM
NWTB Non Stinky 919
 
jeffie7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,503
Rep Power: 1
 
Linksys makes a great router as long as you follow the instructions of restarting it every 37 hours.
jeffie7 is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 02-11-2014, 08:52 PM
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 195
Rep Power: 1
 
Just bought a router myself... This was a good reference.

The 10 Best Wireless Routers | PCMag.com

robroten is offline  
post #31 of 35 Old 02-12-2014, 09:24 AM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,611
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

I have the #3 in that list , the Asus AC66U. Thing is ROCK SOLID and I get insane transfer speeds.

I can watch 8gig .mkv Blu-Ray rips over WI-FI on my projector. Just...cool.

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2006 Honda 599 - Wanda
2007 Honda CB900F (click for pics -sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
post #32 of 35 Old 02-12-2014, 11:08 AM
Milites Gregarius
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 195
Rep Power: 1
 
lol... I just bought the same router ! Installed it yesterday...

robroten is offline  
post #33 of 35 Old 02-12-2014, 11:16 AM
Tribunus Laticlavius
 
voodooridr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 4,579
Rep Power: 1
 
The ASUS was on my short list when I was looking but NewEgg had such a screaming deal on the Buffalo that I couldn't pass it up


Dan
voodooridr is offline  
post #34 of 35 Old 02-12-2014, 02:55 PM
LDH
Test Rider
 
LDH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: by the ocean
Posts: 4,315
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Referral Award 
Total Awards: 2

I spent the entire morning screwing with a Motorola NVG589 trying to get direct UDP traffic forwarded to a port specific IP addy. Was ready to shoot every device on the LAN with a .40 cal when all the sudden it started working properly for no apparent reason whatsoever.

On the positive side the new service is hitting 21.13 Mbps

LDH is offline  
post #35 of 35 Old 02-12-2014, 03:43 PM
Community Moderator
 
g00gl3it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,611
Rep Power: 1
  

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDH View Post
I spent the entire morning screwing with a Motorola NVG589 trying to get direct UDP traffic forwarded to a port specific IP addy. Was ready to shoot every device on the LAN with a .40 cal when all the sudden it started working properly for no apparent reason whatsoever.

On the positive side the new service is hitting 21.13 Mbps
Consumer oriented devices are SO finicky. Our network engineer only runs Cisco routers and switches even for his home internet, . He says he prefers stability over anxiety.

2009 Aprilia Tuono - Ginger
2006 Honda 599 - Wanda
2007 Honda CB900F (click for pics -sold)
2006 Honda VTX 1300C (sold)
YouTube Channel
g00gl3it is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome