Skully Talk - Wrist Twisters
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By KarlJay

post #1 of 21 Old 04-11-2017, 08:30 AM Thread Starter
PB

Skully Talk

There's been some recent talk about Skully so I think we should bring this discussion here just so that we don't hijack the WHYDTYBT thread. For the breakdown on why their company's collapse was so bad:

gizmodo-default

Also, Skully has a couple of still pending applications, but nothing has yet issued, so it's tough to say what they'll get allowed. Especially if someone else gets a hold of the IP:

https://patents.google.com/patent/US20130305437A1/en

https://patents.google.com/patent/US20160066640A1/en

https://patents.google.com/patent/US20160110615A1/en

I'm a patent attorney and do a lot of work with HUDs and other types of optics and while they've got some pretty broad disclosures, it remains to be seen what they'll actually get. In terms of what they're actually doing, in my brief look at the tech, they're just combining known elements, so the patentable scope is likely pretty narrow. Everything is still assigned to Skully so I'll be interested to see who ends up buying their IP. If a bigger company gets a hold of this tech, they could pretty easily just throw it into an existing shell design without too much modification I'd imaging.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 04-11-2017, 08:38 AM
Tesserarius

Great discussion thread.
I met the two brothers who supposedly "created" this HUD helmet.
At the time, they seemd like honorable fellows.
Forward to present day.
They are a bunch of scum bags who never had any intention of creating this device to aid motorcyclists.

And that leads me to another line of discussion, I've always wondered just "WHY" hasn't any of the bigger manufacturers come up with a HUD helmet already?
I can't imagine that there are so many DOT and communication standards that this can't become a reality.

All in all I'm one for HUD for motorcyclists.