Good deal on a helmet cam..... - Wrist Twisters
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 12-19-2011, 07:38 AM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
SAS Mayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Knightdale NC
Posts: 32
Rep Power: 1
 
Good deal on a helmet cam.....

Amazon has this killer deal that I could not pass up for the price, might be something for you if anyone is looking for one. I've been eyeing these for a while. I'm glad I held off for a little bit. 89.99
Amazon.com: Save $100 on the ContourROAM Hands-free HD Camcorder don't forget to use the code 89ROAM89

Cheers
Ron

SAS Mayhem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-19-2011, 08:53 PM
Discen
 
peoples1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MD
Posts: 216
Rep Power: 1
 
Thanks. Now I got something else under the tree for me.

peoples1234 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-31-2012, 02:17 PM
Trackday Junkie
 
fustyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Rep Power: 1
 
I got one, great deal! Thanks for the post on it. I especially like the new door design, very secure.

fustyd is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 01-31-2012, 02:38 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior
 
beefsalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,776
Blog Entries: 51
Rep Power: 1
 

Awards Showcase
Donation 
Total Awards: 1

I picked up a pair with the intent of using them to document my work (so in case I forgot to write something down, I would be able to watch the video and get the info I needed.) Unfortunately, my contractor lost the contract and I was laid off. Since then, it's been a nice addition to my riding getup. I really like that it has the 1/4"x20 threads in the bottom so that if I choose to use a standard camera mount somewhere down the line I can do it without having to fab/purchase an adapter. So far I've only used one proprietary mount on my helmet, and one of their 'roll bar' mounts on my stanchion tube. My only complaint (and its not the cameras fault) is the vibration of the CR250 at idle, when mounted to the stanchion, makes the video wavy. I've also had the lense covered in mud when I mounted it low on the fork. Still trying to come up with a way to use that area to mount the camera and not have vibration issues, as well as fling. So far the local retailer that stocks contour has yet to get a case to stuff the camera into. I know its waterproof up to a meter by itself, but without replacement lenses available I would like to be able to protect it somehows.

if you love your motorcycle, set it free.. if it comes back and hits you.. you highsided
beefsalad is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-03-2012, 10:26 AM
Trackday Junkie
 
fustyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Rep Power: 1
 
gopro camera mount contour

Quote:
Originally Posted by beefsalad View Post
I picked up a pair with the intent of using them to document my work (so in case I forgot to write something down, I would be able to watch the video and get the info I needed.) Unfortunately, my contractor lost the contract and I was laid off. Since then, it's been a nice addition to my riding getup. I really like that it has the 1/4"x20 threads in the bottom so that if I choose to use a standard camera mount somewhere down the line I can do it without having to fab/purchase an adapter. So far I've only used one proprietary mount on my helmet, and one of their 'roll bar' mounts on my stanchion tube. My only complaint (and its not the cameras fault) is the vibration of the CR250 at idle, when mounted to the stanchion, makes the video wavy. I've also had the lense covered in mud when I mounted it low on the fork. Still trying to come up with a way to use that area to mount the camera and not have vibration issues, as well as fling. So far the local retailer that stocks contour has yet to get a case to stuff the camera into. I know its waterproof up to a meter by itself, but without replacement lenses available I would like to be able to protect it somehows.
All cameras have vibration issues on bikes but you should check out the www.motodracing.com camera mount, you can mount a Contour on it and they even have a custom iphone mount. It is very secure and the lens is protected behind the screen.

Here's the video and pic off their website.....

MOTO-D MOTORCYCLE GOPRO MOUNT - YouTube


fustyd is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-03-2012, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
SAS Mayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Knightdale NC
Posts: 32
Rep Power: 1
 
fustyd, that's a nice set up you have here.

Cheers
Ron

SAS Mayhem is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-03-2012, 11:59 PM Thread Starter
Tirone
 
SAS Mayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Knightdale NC
Posts: 32
Rep Power: 1
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by beefsalad View Post
So far the local retailer that stocks contour has yet to get a case to stuff the camera into. I know its waterproof up to a meter by itself, but without replacement lenses available I would like to be able to protect it somehows.
Here you go my friend

Contour | Products | Replacement Lens Kit
and
Contour | Products | Carrying Case
also for better water prtection
Contour | Products | Contour+ Waterproof Case

I hope these helps

Cheers
Ron

SAS Mayhem is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wrist Twisters forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome