• 1 Post By KarlJay
  • 1 Post By K1w1Boy
  • 1 Post By K1w1Boy
  • 1 Post By Nealio919
  • 1 Post By ST-DocLizard1

post #1 of 15 Old 06-30-2017, 03:52 PM Thread Starter
919 Rider

Conditioning leather jacket.

I have just brought a new distressed leather riding jacket. I'm wanting to condition it, waterproofing not important as I have separate wet weather gear. I was wondering what products you guys use? I work as a beekeeper and have loads of beeswax and was considering making my own leather balm.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 06-30-2017, 05:33 PM
McTavish

I've done some rejuvenating of some of my old leathers.
I like to start with Neets Foot Oil but be warned, there is lots of bogus Neets Foot Oil these days and the real McCoy is extremely hard to find.
I found Fiebing Pure Neets Foot Oil, although it's from both pig and cattle shin bones, unlike the classic all cattle shin bone stuff.
There is something about those shin bones that works on leather!

I have found that clear boot crème makes a good finish, and the surface haze can easily be buffed off so there is no sheen or tackiness.
My guess is that bees wax would clog the pores, and prevent future applications of oil from migrating in.
Considering that classic Belstaff suits of cotton were water proofed with a bees wax based goop, makes me doubly concerned about clogging the leather.

I have tried other rejuvenating formulations, but I have not found anything even close to Neets Foot Oil in terms of penetration, benign “nose”, and effect.

I bought the Feibing on line as that was the only way I could access it here in Canada.
Fiebing is in the USA.
Islandboy likes this.

post #3 of 15 Old 06-30-2017, 08:56 PM
Pilus Posterior

Quote:
Originally Posted by Islandboy View Post