Me and My 919 - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 18 Old 01-15-2009, 08:02 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

Me and My 919

Hi everyone, I joined about a month ago and I’m hooked. I love this forum!!! I jump on almost daily just to see what the conversations are for the day, and sometimes just to get a laugh (thanks Barton). I’ve already posted a few times, but I thought I would formally introduce myself and how I became a 919 owner.

First of all my name is Ben, I work as a machinist and general fabricator for the engineering department of the United States Air Force Academy. Before you ask…no I have never served in the Air Force or any other branch of the military, I just fell into a job in which I work for the government. One of these days I will put my skills as a machinist to good use by making one of kind mods to the 9er. I’ll be sure to post plenty of pics.

I also am an engineering student at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.

On to the bike(s)…It all started about a year ago when I got a raise at work. I had(have) a car with over 200k miles on it and started looking to replace it. One day while searching craigslist at work, a co-worker (who rides) pointed out that my car still ran. He was right! I abandoned the car search and started looking at motorcycles. I have been around motorcycles my whole life, but never owned one. My dad has owned a Harley since I was a kid, and I have never past on an opportunity to ride a dirt bike. But, since I had no experience riding street, I enrolled in the MSF safety course I could get into.