Organizing a charity ride - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 9 Old 08-08-2013, 02:52 PM Thread Starter
919 Skunk-Ape

Organizing a charity ride

Hey everyone. I've never done one of these before, but I think I might give it a try. I work for the Y in central FL. Last year our association was able to collect over 20,000 shoeboxes stuffed with gifts for kids in impoverished countries around the world. The program is called operation Christmas child. Look it up.
Anyhow, I was thinking about doing a charity ride to benefit this program. It would be something like this: bring a packed box to get in the ride. Bring( 2? ) boxes and get a (free something from some place we stop Along the way). Then I was thinking of doing some kind of party at the final dest. Maybe BBQ
Has anyone put together one of these? Are you supposed to notify the LEOs? Is it common to reach out to riding clubs?
Any advice or warnings appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 08-09-2013, 09:48 AM
Serial Monogamist

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 21

A noble cause, but I would be concerned about the personal liability aspect first.

"FRIENDS DON'T LET FRIENDS EARLY APEX."
post #3 of 9 Old 08-09-2013, 03:14 PM Thread Starter
919 Skunk-Ape

What personal liability is there in a group ride? Only thing I can think of is the leader crashing and causing others to crash - that is if the leader is the organizer. Even then as far as liability on the road goes, this is Florida. No-fault state.
People do rides like this all of the time. I've never heard of someone being sued from anything involved in one.
Lastly, as far as personal liability goes, the only thing I have my name on is my bike. Technically that's my means of transportation. In FL you can not take someone's primary home (my house) or means of transportation. So...... I have nothing to take.