Is it me and Harleys? - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 15 Old 04-13-2009, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
imagepix

Is it me and Harleys?

Alway being an Honda owner with my first purchase being an 1970 Honda CT 70, (ok so I am showing my age), I have purchased my first Harley. It is a 07 FD Street Bob. As I started working on it I have been purchasing OEM and after market parts and it seem that I am having to modify the part, cut the bolt shorter or go to the hardware store for the longer bolt. Also it seams that I have to take off several parts do to simple task, such as adding rear pegs. Not to mention that there is always a relocation kit. Is it just me being anal or is it just that farm fit way of doing things. I love the ride of cruising down the road. Just curious as to what other folks think.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 04-13-2009, 12:15 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior

Sorry I have no experience with HD. Merely with Honda. So far every part that I have bought for my bike was a direct bolt up. Sorry that you are having such a bad experience with your parts.

'04 919---40k----6/18/10 SOLD

http://s603.photobucket.com/home/ZookMor/index
post #3 of 15 Old 04-13-2009, 12:16 PM
STR-III

Awards Showcase
Donation Donation 
Total Awards: 2

I have no idea about that but it sounds like poor quality after market parts. I do have to say that we have no less than 5 Harley riders at the office. They talk about stuff breaking, the bike not starting, and towing it just like the 'other riders' talk about enjoying the ride. They act like having to trailer their Harley is no big deal and just a part of motorcycle ownership.

I'm really interested to hear other opinions. One day when I get too old to be comfortable on a sport bike, maybe I'll get a Harley.

Press Any Key To Continue.

post #4 of 15 Old 04-13-2009, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
imagepix

To what....