2003 800Sie MONSTER COUGHING, MISFIRING, RUNNING ROUGH - Wrist Twisters

post #1 of 12 Old 05-05-2008, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

2003 800Sie MONSTER COUGHING, MISFIRING, RUNNING ROUGH

I am owner of a 2003 800Sie Monster of only 6000 miles. I have had problems for quite sometime with the engine bucking and coughing/misfiring up through the air cleaner at 3-4k on the tach. This problem started out very slowly in 2004 after almost one year of ownership and was very intermittent. Now the bike is almost unridable. In May 2007 I talked to a dealer in Pennsylvania and was told to disconnect the fuel vapor recirculation system because this had a history of causing poor performance. This fix helped but again only temporarily. As a technician myself, I realize the importance of the “process of elimination” and this was the first step in a series of attempts to solve the problem. Next in February 2008 the dealer here in Santa Barbara, CA first inspected the bike and blamed the poor running engine on a Power Commander which I had installed to compensate for the seemingly lean mix and misfiring. I was also told the Power Commander may have damaged the ECU. They removed the Power Commander, adjusted a few things on the bike and recommended I bring the bike in sometime for its 6k service and have the ECU replaced. Wow! The bike ran great! Problem solved? No. After a week of commuting back and forth to work the bucking and misfiring came back with a vengeance. Ok… trusting the dealer to know what they were doing, I brought the bike in for the recommended 6k service and on their recommendation replaced the ECU by purchasing the Ducati high performance mod kit which included the carbon fiber pipes, air cleaner and ECU for only $90 more than if I had just ordered the ECU alone. $2300 later I pick up my bike and think this should have finally done it. Wouldn’t you know the bike runs great for another week and the problem returns again! On one morning thereafter I wake up to see