Track days on a 919 - Wrist Twisters
 13Likes

post #1 of 56 Old 10-29-2011, 08:38 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

Question Track days on a 919

Hi I am new to this.
I have a 2004 919, And I would like to try a track day, Have never done one. Would a 919 be a good bike for this. When I look at the 2006 - 2007 zx6 600 cc sport bikes their horse power ratings are about the same and their torque ratings are quite a bit less, are they that much better or will the 919 do just fine. I dont want to take my 919 to the track and find out that its just not the kind of thing that you do. Thanks Mike

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 56 Old 10-29-2011, 09:18 PM
McTavish

The 919 is a great bike to do track days with.
It's easy to ride and feels easy to ride, not at all intimidating as compared to a razor sharp 600 SS or bigger CCs if you are not used to that.
I've done over 1200 miles of track mileage on mine.
Keep in mind how soft the suspension is.
Stay smooth so it doesn't move the suspension as much, and be prepared for your pegs folding up on you.
A tip to keep your foot from getting trapped in a folding peg and grinding your boot off, is to put the sole of your boot against the plate the peg mounts to.

post #3 of 56 Old 10-29-2011, 09:36 PM
Tirone

I would like to do a track day on mine. But i haven't found one close to go to yet.

2007 Honda 919
2004 Honda 599
1998 XR400

post #4 of 56 Old 10-29-2011, 11:30 PM Thread Starter
Tirone

Thanks for the info.The bike is stock. Did you make any needed changes for the track.

post #5 of 56 Old 10-29-2011, 11:59 PM
(Quintus) Pilus Prior

Awards Showcase
Veteran Extraordinary Ride Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 3

Welcome to Wristtwisters, Greenie!

Well, fire the engines! Spur this iron space-pony on!

"The Shadow"
post #6 of 56 Old 10-30-2011, 08:38 AM
Optio

Quote:
Originally Posted by SociallyAwkwardPenguin View Post
I would like to do a track day on mine. But i haven't found one close to go to yet.