For those that have: When did you do your first track event? - Wrist Twisters
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By nathanktm
  • 1 Post By jmdavis984

post #1 of 15 Old 03-28-2017, 11:05 AM Thread Starter
Discen

Garage
For those that have: When did you do your first track event?

As the title asks. I'm also curious to know what thing (or things) made you feel like you were ready to take your bike on a track, if even for absolute novice/beginner days. I'm still a long ways off, because I don't feel like the basic controls are second nature to me yet, but I feel like that will be the trigger for me. Also, I'm not referring to being ready equipment-wise (trailer, track leathers, bike prep etc).

My goal is to track this bike, and not just use it for getting around A to B.

Al
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 03-28-2017, 12:50 PM
Tesserarius

Awards Showcase
Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance Wrist Twisters Event Attendance 
Total Awards: 6

I had 10,000 miles seat time when I did my first track day. I'd say at least a few thousand of those were "pleasure" miles - - riding curvy roads. I honestly believe skill level has nothing to do with whether or not you are ready for the track, but rather, your state of mind. Your primary focus as a new tracker is not speed, but safety. Regardless of how quick you are, if you don't make dangerous decisions and follow all the rules, you'll have a good time. Don't worry so much about gear, tracks typically rent it out. In my opinion, it sounds like you need at least a few more thousand miles seat time though.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk

post #3 of 15 Old 03-28-2017, 03:23 PM
LDH
Test Rider

Awards Showcase
Trackday Recognition Referral Award 
Total Awards: 2