Sportbike Forums on WristTwisters banner

Ken's Heated Base Layer 3.0

4K views 27 replies 10 participants last post by  Ken Phenix 
#1 ·
I've been making my own electrics for 6 years now. http://www.wristtwisters.com/forums/f15/make-your-own-heated-gear-28728.html

I applied what I've learned to a new version jacket liner I call 3.0. Old 2.0 is still working fine, I wanted to streamline and tidy things up a bit. So this time I decided to combine my thermal base layer and heated jacket into one garment. I almost never wear the electrics without the base layer too. I found this Freeze-out brand zippered top they call a "gilet." Its thick poly fleece lined material is plenty robust enough to hold the wiring. As before I plan to tuck it in like a shirt to prevent the wind from coming up between my back and the heat. FREEZE-OUT - Base Layer Zipped Gilet - Tops - Base Layers - Street - CycleGear - Cycle Gear

For the first time I used a machine zig zag stitch to attach the wires - much neater.

I learned the hard way to take it slow with the machine. Once I hit the nichrome squarely with the needle - the needle won.
It was an easy fix. As with the assembly, I used an unshielded butt connector crimped, then filled with solder and covered with shrink tube.

In order to get the snug fit I wanted I had to settle for sleeves that were too short. So I cannibalized my old army surplus base layer and sewed the sleeves inside to add a couple inches to the cuffs and to make a double layer up to just below the elbow. This worked out well as the arms are heated only in the bicep area where I feel the wind the most. Also, I left the glove Y-cord out this time and attached it to my outer jacket. Now I won't have to don the heated jacket just to power the gloves on shorter commutes or milder temps. Before I was wearing the jacket liner without turning it on about half the time.